Sweet Sourdough Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I used a whole wheat friendship bread starter that I had, and made these cookies vegan. Oil instead of the butter, flax instead of the eggs and I reduced the sugar by 1/4 c since I used a sweet starter. I put in maybe 1/2 c of chips into the batter, but actually like the dough without chocolate in it better. Next time I'd only add some cinnamon to the recipe and keep everything else the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
These were okay. I found them lacking taste and consistency. The second time I made them I added chocolate chips, and that helped a bit. I don't think that I will be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
These are very light and easy to make. A great way to use up extra sourdough starter. I think they need an "add-in", like chocolate chips, nuts or toffee chips. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
I use the Amish Friendship Starter for this recipe. However, I make them into Snickerdoodles by topping the cookies with a mixture of 2 tablespoons of cinnamon to 1/2 cup sugar before baking. Yum!!!!!!! Adding an extra 1/4 cup of flour to the recipe mixture makes the cookies maintain their shape while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
these are good, I tasted the batter and it seemed very bland. added dried wild Maine blueberries, white chocolate chips and coconut and they tasted very good; sort of like a blueberry muffin. alot of versatility is allowed w/this recipe. cake-type texture. makes a big batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This is a very wet dough. I had to drop spoons full of the dough into sugar and cinnamon to make snickerdoodles. They spread a lot in the oven so make sure you leave plenty of room on your baking sheet. I am going to try adding a half cup of flour next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Running Springs, California, USA
Living In: Star, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I made these today and they were quite good. I used butterscotch morsals as an add in and I added more flour as my starter was somewhat wet and the dough was quite soft. I would make them again. I think I will try adding a bit of orange zest and orange extract next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
My mom always made these for us when we were growing up. She called them half-moons. She would turn them upside down and frost the flat part...half vanilla frosting and half chocolate. They didn't last long!!! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
This recipe is easy and delicious! I am thrilled. I can't wait to try this with cocoa powder in the mix for a chocolate version, or with add-ins like milk chocolate chips!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRADYSMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lakeview, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
What a GREAT way to use sourdough starter (I can't bear to throw it out)! I added about 1/2 cup each of chocolate chips, currants, and oatmeal to the recipe, and they turned out nicely, although I think they would be pretty good without add-ins, too. One thing I really liked is that, due to the sourdough starter, the cookies rise nicely, consistently, and don't fall. My starter was not sweet and made from whole wheat flour, and it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Melted Snowman Cookies

Turn marshmallows and sugar cookies into amazing melted snowmen.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States