Sweet Smoked Pork Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Oh my, these are finger lickin' good! I may be a Northern girl, but I do know a good rib when I taste one. The key to a really good rib is in the rub and this rub is great! I actually made extra and put it in a small jar to have on hand. I did change one major thing though and that was the amount of salt - I cut way back on that; 1 & 1/2 tsp. for the full recipe. The rest of the recipe is a matter of taste. I used 1 Tbsp each of the black and white peppers, but really you could leave it alone. We have a smoker, but if you don't use whatever you have - gas or charcoal grill with a lid. If you do use a grill, wrap the ribs in foil and put a thin layer of BBQ sauce on the bottom of the foil before wrapping to prevent the ribs from sticking. Place them on the grill on low heat, cover, and let them cook for about two - three hours or until done. Unwrap them and finish directly on the grill basting the ribs in the remaining BBQ sauce. As far as the BBQ sauce is concerned again use what you have or like. I didn't have apple juice so I added a splash of apple cider vinegar, a splash of liquid smoke along with the brown sugar to some Bull's Eye BBQ sauce I had (I doubled the amount the recipe called for). These were absolutely fabulous, fall off the bone good - perfect with coleslaw and cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
this recipe was deicious. we added jack daniels for extra flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I made these yesterday. I followed the advice of the other reviews and used half the cumin and it was delicious. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I loved it! Even with the amount of cumin it says to add. I read a lot of reviews about how it could do with less cumin, but the recipe is, in my opinion, just right. Two enthusiastic thumbs up on this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by elinor3
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
The only trouble I had with these ribs was maintaining the smoker's temperature because it was cold and windy. Other than that, the meat was very tender and sauce was lip-smacking! I will definitely try these again on a warmer day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elinor3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grove, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Loved this recipe. Easy to make and the flavor turned out great and the ribs were very tender. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Great recipe! I do not have a smoker so I added a small amount of liquid smoke to the dry rub. I also added 1/4 cup of apple juice to the dry rub and let the ribs marinate for 6 hours. I grilled the ribs on my gas grill and brush them with the BBQ/apple juice/brown sugar mixture frequently. They came out so tender and the taste was perfect. I served the ribs with a side of grilled zucchini/yellow squash and couscous. Enjoy!!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
OMG this recipe makes me look like a pro. Only changes are that Ihave no smoker so I do it in the oven sans smoke ( than freeze it in seal meal take camping ) finish off on the bbq .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Made these for my wife's birthday party this past weekend and everybody loved them. I added a 1/4 cup of Jack Daniel's Tennessee Honey Whiskey to the sauce and they were awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I was looking for something with flavor but really didn't want to do a traditional barbeque recipe. This was perfect. I deleted the white pepper and cumin and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Campanelle with Oven-Roasted Pork Ribs

Campanelle pasta is tossed with tender ribs, sliced cabbage, and flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States