Sweet Smoked Pork Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
this recipe was deicious. we added jack daniels for extra flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
It was good overall, it got alot of compliments. But personally i felt like the cumin was to strong, especially since the smell stayed on my finigers so i would advise to use less or to not use it at all. But overall it was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
It was good, and I did not stick to the recipe, because I could tell that it would of been too spicy for my family. Here is what I did: I used 1 tablespoon of the pepper and white pepper. I used slightly less than the 1/4 cup of salt...lets say 1/4 minus 1 tablespoon. I used 1/2 of the cumin because I agreed with another reviewer that the cumin would of been too strong otherwise. Next time when I try this recipe, I am going to buy the frozen 100% apple juice and use it undiluted, I believe it will bring out a sweeter intensity that I would prefer. I also used apple chips to smoke with and that was great. The meat was fall off the bone good, and it was plenty spicy, so I was glad I had cut those peppers in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Great recipe! I do not have a smoker so I added a small amount of liquid smoke to the dry rub. I also added 1/4 cup of apple juice to the dry rub and let the ribs marinate for 6 hours. I grilled the ribs on my gas grill and brush them with the BBQ/apple juice/brown sugar mixture frequently. They came out so tender and the taste was perfect. I served the ribs with a side of grilled zucchini/yellow squash and couscous. Enjoy!!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I was looking for something with flavor but really didn't want to do a traditional barbeque recipe. This was perfect. I deleted the white pepper and cumin and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by elinor3
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
The only trouble I had with these ribs was maintaining the smoker's temperature because it was cold and windy. Other than that, the meat was very tender and sauce was lip-smacking! I will definitely try these again on a warmer day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elinor3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grove, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I let my family rate this. We are not BBQ kings by any means, nor am I a BBQ queen. I need it easy. This was. I found the blend of herbs beautiful, I say a less on the cumin, my husband said no. He thougt the cumin was dead on. After readiing others reviews, the cumin was the topic. I guess it depends on how much you love cumin. We are fans. I needed a fast recipe. I did not have time to marinate. I rubbed the ribs, did let them sit for 30 minutes, pacing, then roasted in the oven at 325 degrees for about 1 hour 15 minutes. This rub did not need sauce, the fat from the ribs allowed me to roll them for juiceness, though the boys wanted me to smear some BBQ sauce on them, so I did. Just added to the whole experience. They were very good and I will use it again when I don't have time to think ahead of time. Great blend of dried spices. Thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Oh my, these are finger lickin' good! I may be a Northern girl, but I do know a good rib when I taste one. The key to a really good rib is in the rub and this rub is great! I actually made extra and put it in a small jar to have on hand. I did change one major thing though and that was the amount of salt - I cut way back on that; 1 & 1/2 tsp. for the full recipe. The rest of the recipe is a matter of taste. I used 1 Tbsp each of the black and white peppers, but really you could leave it alone. We have a smoker, but if you don't use whatever you have - gas or charcoal grill with a lid. If you do use a grill, wrap the ribs in foil and put a thin layer of BBQ sauce on the bottom of the foil before wrapping to prevent the ribs from sticking. Place them on the grill on low heat, cover, and let them cook for about two - three hours or until done. Unwrap them and finish directly on the grill basting the ribs in the remaining BBQ sauce. As far as the BBQ sauce is concerned again use what you have or like. I didn't have apple juice so I added a splash of apple cider vinegar, a splash of liquid smoke along with the brown sugar to some Bull's Eye BBQ sauce I had (I doubled the amount the recipe called for). These were absolutely fabulous, fall off the bone good - perfect with coleslaw and cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Really good, I liked the Cumin flavour that this has. It gives it a bit of an Indian flare. I did make a few changes. Using 2 tbsps salt, and no white pepper (I didn't have any) If your not sure about the Cumin as it does have an over powering flavour cut it in half. Oh and if using fattier/tougher ribs highly recommend boiling them for 15 minutes then let them cool and then start the rub ect. Also I should let you know that I BBQ these. Hope this helps. I will be making these again!! Yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I have used this as a rub all summer and been asked many times for the recipe. It is good on chicken, steak & fish as well as pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Campanelle with Oven-Roasted Pork Ribs

Campanelle pasta is tossed with tender ribs, sliced cabbage, and flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States