Sweet Simmered Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
I only made half the recipe for my hubby and I and we still had plenty of sauce left over. The pork chops came out nice and tender and the sauce is nicely sweet. I just wish I could thicken the sauce a bit because it is so delicious. I want to try this on chicken now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
OMG!! I tried this recipe on last night and one word sums it up...SUPERB!! Im talking bone sucking good pork chops!! LOL!! This is now a family favorite!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
This was great. I plan on using the majority of the ingredients except the pork chops for some other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I just tried this recipe and I loved it! Everything was stated perfectly and my pork chops came out divine! I'm passing this recipe down to my girlfriends. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RockinMommy87

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Reedley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I used the rootbeer as it say's in the notes. I used only one 16 0z bottle and there was plenty of sause. My family loved this and has requested it again. Next time I will try cola.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I am rating this for the sauce. Pork chops are pork chops, but the sauce is soo good. Whenever I make my own sauce I put Dr. Pepper in it now. The sauce is so sweet but yummy. My boyfriend raved and raved over the sauce and how much he liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
SO GOOD. I am definitely making this again. I made it in the slow cooker and then threw them in the oven to broil (with a little extra BBQ sauce). Delicious! Plus, my house smelled amazing all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jaana Smith Bauman
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I made a few changes to this recipe, and the star rating reflects my changes! I also want to add, I made a chicken breast exactly the same way with this recipe, and I preferred the chicken breast to the pork chop! I did everything in a cast iron skillet. Seasoned meat with salt and pepper- seared stove- top until light, golden-brown skin. Covered the meat with sauce, put in oven, flipped meat half-way through. The sauce was too thin, as others commented, So I removed the meat, set aside, and added a bit of corn starch to the sauce over low heat until desired consistency was reached.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaana Smith Bauman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I've made this twice now and I'm giving it 4 stars as-is. When following the recipe as written, the pork chops are tasty but they are a soupy mess. There is no real sauce, so to speak. The natural juices mingled with the soda/barbecue sauce concoction and watered it down. However, when I made them a second time, I boiled the daylights out of the sauce in a saucepan for about 15-20 minutes (or so - just watch for it to thicken a bit), until it thickened. I then brushed some onto the chops and reserved the rest to pour on at the dinner table (I stuck it in a gravy boat and let my hubby and the kids pour on to their hearts' desire). Everyone agreed that doing it this was much better, the chops were more flavorful and the sauce is KILLER! Thanks for a good starting point. Will definitely make this again the amended way. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
very easy an quick prep work for this meal and it tasted great. Both my husband and my daughter asked for seconds and ate every last bit of it. I followed the receipe exactly and will be sharing it with my friends
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Stuffed Pork Chops I

Thick pork chops bake with bread stuffing and cream of mushroom soup.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States