Sweet Sausage Marsala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Just as everyone else did, I added a lot more marsala wine and garlic. I used a tablespoon of the garlic and just eye-balled the marsala, but it was probably somewhere between 2 and 4 tablespoons. I also used hot turkey sausage, added some zucchini and carrots and yellow bell peppers to the mix of veggies and some red pepper flakes for some extra heat. I used 100% whole wheat farfalle pasta instead of bow-tie because that is just what I had on hand. I think with my substitutions, I took a good recipe and made it zestier and healthier by using turkey sausage which is much more lean and the whole wheat pasta. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Easy and very tasty. The only thing I do different is to slice my sausage first, then brown. (If the sausage is frozen, it's easier to slice partially frozen)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
It's a very good dish, on top of the good taste, it's really simple too. I took the advice from another reviewer to put tomatoes with garlic/onion/peppers concoction. I also used some left-over parsley. It's a great dish. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellydancer
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
We really thought this was delicious. I used two cloves garlic, 1/2 c. marsala, and 2 cans diced tomato, (one with garlic and onion added, one with celery and green pepper added). I took the casings off of the sausage, crumbled it, cooked until it started to brown a little, added the wine, one frozen bag of green peppers,red peppers, yellow peppers and onions mix, garlic and tomatoes. When the sausage was just about done, I added the oregano and black pepper. I used whole wheat bowties, they are just a little "chewier", but it tasted good. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
i made this the other night when i was very hungry and needed quick and easy, and that it was. it was very tasty, reminded me of eating sausage and peppers at the fair. yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mykidsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Excellent base recipe. Made with same ingredients, just modified to our liking...including the addition of significantly more wine. Also, I made it once stirred in some blue cheese until melted...that was fabulous too. I did add crushed red pepper to give it some zing. All and all, a great, easy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Osceola, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Really great flavor and easy to put together. We make this all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
We loved this!! This one will def become a regular!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Long Beach, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2007
This was delicious! I made a few modifications: I used at least a full cup of marsala, and additional can of diced tomatoes and about 4 oz. of tomato paste to thicken the sauce. The sauce is wonderful--my dinner guests sopped it up with bread and practically licked their plates! One shortcut - use the Birdseye frozen bagged mix that contains chopped red/green peppers and onions and save a few steps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
This recipe is absolutely delicious. My husband and daughter kept raving about it. We loved it. I used linguine because I already had it on hand. I added a little more garlic, only because we love garlic. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly. What a great dinner. Thanks for the recipe Eddy. It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stillwater, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Hawaiian Sweet & Sour Smoked Sausage

Enjoy the sweet-and-savory taste of the islands in no time.

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

A classic Italian chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States