Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
OMG, these are delicious and they're not even cold yet! I followed the recipe exactly, but have had to really watch them in my fan oven! I had to pull them out well before the first ten minutes was up because they were threatening to burn, so turned the oven down (to 125 degrees C) for the final six minutes. I would recommend that, if you have a fan oven, lower the heat proportionately. And watch them closely whatever oven you're using! I would also suggest that you take them off the foil whilst they're still warm and sticky. Seems to me they'd be murder to break off if they were left on the foil to get cold. For my taste, they're not quite spicy enough (although they may become more spicy when they're cold)! I think there's plenty of cumin, but next time I think I'll heap the quarter teaspoon of cayenne pepper and use a little less sugar - perhaps 3/4 of the half cup. That's just me though - I love spicy but am not so keen on too sweet! Otherwise, these come highly recommended by me! Thank you so much for sharing, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fernsong

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
These are delicious! I followed the recipe to the letter, except that I bought a big jug of deluxe mixed nuts that contained pecans, hazelnuts, almonds, cashews and Brazil nuts and measured out four cups of that since this recipe called for 1 cup of 4 different types of nuts. They turned out really well, and are so easy to make. I'm giving them as gifts and will have to make at least another batch, if not more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freeland, Maryland, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
These nuts are really good. Next time I will add a little more cayenne pepper as I like them with a little more kick. However if giving these as a gift or serving them for friends the spice is just right. P.S. If you have any kind of juvenile sense of humor, watch the video (I used to teach Jr. High, I can't help it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
DO NOT LET THESE COOL ON THE FOIL!! These nuts taste great, but the are really hard to get off if you let them cool on the foil, even if they are well separated. Parchment paper may also be the way to go, as another reviewer suggested. Other than that, these are easy to make and tasty, so I'll probably make them again. I might reduce the salt next time and mix them with pretzels before serving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
We loved these nuts. If you had problems breaking them up, try separating them a little more before they go back in for the last six minutes. As Chef John stated in his video, you could use any varieties of spices. Since cumin isn't my favorite, I used a specialty mix of Cajun spices gifted to me by my friend ~Lissa~. I might try adding the spices to the butter/sugar mixture to see if it will more evenly coat the nuts and then the salt at the end. These would make a very nice hostess gift as stated by other reviewers. I would also perhaps like some snipped rosemary added to these. Thanks for this recipe! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
These are very, very good and simple to put together. I get asked for the recipe every time I bring them to a gathering. Occasionally I use brown sugar instead of white sugar and sometimes add some tabasco sauce for an extra kick. If you use store bought mixed nuts, you can reduce or eliminate the added salt in the recipe. I recommend stirring them occasionally as they cool to keep them from sticking together too badly. Definitely worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Excellent, easy & delicious treat! Making second batch for holidays (& may take some to the movies!) to share with friends. Recommend using Silpat type baking sheet liners- no problems with sticking & cleans up easily. Bought nuts in large bags at Costco, or could buy in bulk (if fresh?)- enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I wanted to replace the intensely sugary spiced pecans I always make as Christmas gifts and tried this recipe. I was concerned that friends would be disappointed with a healthier gift, but not for long. These were a HUGE hit! Initially I thought they needed more spice but the second batch I did add more and now I'm back to the original mix. I DO add an extra cup of nuts, filberts and macadamias, because there's plenty of syrup to coat more. This will become my new holiday tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by avocado
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Wow - HOT! Chef John likes his cayenne pepper!! I also added 1/2 tsp cumin & 1/2 tsp coriander & 2 tbsp. honey which my favourite brought nuts have on them! However, the honey probably made them more sticky! Next time I would cut in half the cayenne and maybe just add an 1/8 tsp coriander & cumin and add more salt. I'm not in real spicy things, and I felt the spicyness took over the sweet & saltyness. Otherwise great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Feilding, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Love, love love these. Very addictive. I did change the prep a little as I couldn't see how the spices would evenly distribute if applied directly to the nuts, so I stirred them into the butter mixture before I put it on the nuts and mixed. I also made sure I loosened them from the foil and broke them apart while they were done and still warm. Have made several times and will make them again. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States