Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by jschm117
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Delicious, but I made them for friends that don't like sweet things. The first batch was a little sweet and not spicy enough for me. The second batch I doubled the cayenne and cumin and cut back a little on the syrup. Much more what I expected. To prevent sticking I would also suggest not using the foil and stir them several times immediately after you take them out of the oven as they cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA
Living In: Novato, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I was hoping they would have a kick to them, I should note I used Berbere & tasted the spice ahead of time to make sure it was going to be spicy. Mostly tasted sugar & a little bit of salt. Next time I'm going to reduce sugar a bit & up the spice. I added the spice to the sugar mixture right before adding nuts to ensure all nuts were evenly coated. I also used a Silpat. Overall these were okay & will make them again with some changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I guess I'm Jr High cooking level as I overcooked the first batch abit. Upon seeing the video Chef explained that the little nuts need to remain together. I single layered mine right out and poor lil buggers are too toasty. I was watching the timer like a hawk! Thankfully my husband of 28 years has acquired a taste for "over done". Batch 2 (AFTER seeing the video) was much better. It gave me an eye for the visual of finished product! Keep an eye on the oven! Nothing should get too dark. I like the addition of worcestershire. I splashed in 1/2 teaspoon in. Otherwise held true to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dc3boys
Home Town: North East, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
The first time I made this (yesterday), I used almonds, cashew halves and left out the cumin. I paired these with a bourbon vanilla caramel sauce in gift baskets and cumin didn't fit in. I'm making it again tonight for more gifts and I'm using cashews, almonds, pecans, and peanuts. This time I'll leave out the cumin AND the black pepper. It's just too dominant a flavor for me. I really just prefer the cayenne for heat. The cooking method is quick, easy, and I had no problem whatsoever with it sticking. I followed the recipe for the caramel, the prep, and the cooking time and it worked beautifully for me. Humidity does play a factor so that may have been the problem for some folks. Awesome recipe. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
My first rating was two stars. I had tasted them when warm. The next day they were much better and I had someone ask for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Very good! Next time I will add more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Excellent! So much better than the recipe I had that used corn syrup. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Fantastic!!! Easy and a huge hit with kids and adults
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I used mixed nuts - it was a hit!! Might add a smidge more Cayenne for hubby- will make again soon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I made these for a friend's Thanksgiving day get-together and they were a big hit. I didn't bother measuring the nuts; I just eyeballed them. Everything else was done as written. I did find the nuts were a bit sticky to the aluminum foil, but folding the foil off the nuts worked fine. The nuts came off in big sheets which were easily broken down by hand. I really liked the "slow heat" of the spiciness; I'm very sensitive to that type of heat, but was able to tolerate this well and really enjoyed them. My friend is already asking for me to make them again, and Thanksgiving was just four days ago!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States