Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
These are amazingly delicious and so easy to make! I like them much better than the ones done on the stove top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlpineMt.Momma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Alpine, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I just made these. Oh so easy...oh so tasty and I am giving them as a hostess gift. I will be making more of these for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mari1751

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seneca, South Carolina, USA
Photo by potatokat7
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Very easy recipe to make. My guests liked the nuts, especially the mild spicy aftertaste. I did have a little bit of a problem with the nuts sticking together in the bowl, maybe I didn't roast them for long enough? I just put a metal serving spoon in the bowl with the nuts so guests could sort of jab at the nuts to break them apart. They were delicious nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by potatokat7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
These are delicious! I followed the recipe to the letter, except that I bought a big jug of deluxe mixed nuts that contained pecans, hazelnuts, almonds, cashews and Brazil nuts and measured out four cups of that since this recipe called for 1 cup of 4 different types of nuts. They turned out really well, and are so easy to make. I'm giving them as gifts and will have to make at least another batch, if not more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freeland, Maryland, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
We loved these nuts. If you had problems breaking them up, try separating them a little more before they go back in for the last six minutes. As Chef John stated in his video, you could use any varieties of spices. Since cumin isn't my favorite, I used a specialty mix of Cajun spices gifted to me by my friend ~Lissa~. I might try adding the spices to the butter/sugar mixture to see if it will more evenly coat the nuts and then the salt at the end. These would make a very nice hostess gift as stated by other reviewers. I would also perhaps like some snipped rosemary added to these. Thanks for this recipe! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
OMG, these are delicious and they're not even cold yet! I followed the recipe exactly, but have had to really watch them in my fan oven! I had to pull them out well before the first ten minutes was up because they were threatening to burn, so turned the oven down (to 125 degrees C) for the final six minutes. I would recommend that, if you have a fan oven, lower the heat proportionately. And watch them closely whatever oven you're using! I would also suggest that you take them off the foil whilst they're still warm and sticky. Seems to me they'd be murder to break off if they were left on the foil to get cold. For my taste, they're not quite spicy enough (although they may become more spicy when they're cold)! I think there's plenty of cumin, but next time I think I'll heap the quarter teaspoon of cayenne pepper and use a little less sugar - perhaps 3/4 of the half cup. That's just me though - I love spicy but am not so keen on too sweet! Otherwise, these come highly recommended by me! Thank you so much for sharing, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fernsong

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Fantastic! I was looking for something that wasn't too sweet or overly spicy and this was perfect. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sk8dagr8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Excellent combo of sweet, salty and spicy. Did not have cashews so left them out. Used parchment paper instead of foil. No problem with sticking. Will make more tomorrow and give them away as gifts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lasalle, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
DO NOT LET THESE COOL ON THE FOIL!! These nuts taste great, but the are really hard to get off if you let them cool on the foil, even if they are well separated. Parchment paper may also be the way to go, as another reviewer suggested. Other than that, these are easy to make and tasty, so I'll probably make them again. I might reduce the salt next time and mix them with pretzels before serving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Yummy, perfect balance of sweet & spicy! quick & easy to make. Will definitely make this again. I used raw mixed nuts - cashews, almonds, pistachios, hazelnuts & walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States