Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
The first time I made this (yesterday), I used almonds, cashew halves and left out the cumin. I paired these with a bourbon vanilla caramel sauce in gift baskets and cumin didn't fit in. I'm making it again tonight for more gifts and I'm using cashews, almonds, pecans, and peanuts. This time I'll leave out the cumin AND the black pepper. It's just too dominant a flavor for me. I really just prefer the cayenne for heat. The cooking method is quick, easy, and I had no problem whatsoever with it sticking. I followed the recipe for the caramel, the prep, and the cooking time and it worked beautifully for me. Humidity does play a factor so that may have been the problem for some folks. Awesome recipe. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
My first rating was two stars. I had tasted them when warm. The next day they were much better and I had someone ask for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Very good! Next time I will add more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Excellent! So much better than the recipe I had that used corn syrup. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Fantastic!!! Easy and a huge hit with kids and adults
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I used mixed nuts - it was a hit!! Might add a smidge more Cayenne for hubby- will make again soon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I made these for a friend's Thanksgiving day get-together and they were a big hit. I didn't bother measuring the nuts; I just eyeballed them. Everything else was done as written. I did find the nuts were a bit sticky to the aluminum foil, but folding the foil off the nuts worked fine. The nuts came off in big sheets which were easily broken down by hand. I really liked the "slow heat" of the spiciness; I'm very sensitive to that type of heat, but was able to tolerate this well and really enjoyed them. My friend is already asking for me to make them again, and Thanksgiving was just four days ago!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
these are fabulous! My husband won't leave them alone. I didn't roast them for the 10 mins before adding the coating, I cooked them for 12 minutes and they are perfect. definitely company worthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I made this with Wildtree coconut oil instead of butter and Wildtree Memphis Dry Rub seasoning instead of the spices. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Yes! This is the greatest & best nut mixture ever! I like more spicy seasoning, so I added 1/2 tsp cumin & 1/2 cumin pepper. What a great chef you are and I'm looking at the rest of your good recipes. I made my first batch for a party and now they want the recipe. Wow!! One Q? how do I print and not have all these ads? Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States