Sweet Rice and Mango Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Grvqn
Reviewed: May 18, 2006
I really like this recipe. Very easy to make. I used my rice cooker. I put 3/4c. of rice and 1/2c. of sugar. Letit cook all together. This is a really light desert! Great for summer time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grvqn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
Delicious, just like the sweet sticky rice I've had in Thai restaurants. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This is a good easy way to do this desert. I love this no matter how it's cooked and I'm a chocolate person--you should try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
mango sticky rice ROCKS! HAHA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by plant killer
Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
People went insane, myself included, over this recipe! I wanted something that "felt like the very first time" I had Mango Sticky Rice and Thai food. This delivers! Thanks! Side note, MAKE SURE you get CREAM of coconut, it is different. I say this because I almost bought coconut milk and the man at my Asian American supermarket explained that they were different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
Very yummy! This is my favorite desert that I order in Thai restaraunts. This recipe has the same flavor, but it doesn't look the same or have the same consistency as you would get in a restaraunt. But who cares! It tastes wonderful! I made the rice with my rice cooker and made it exactly as written, except I used Jasmine rice because it's all I had on hand. Next time I will use less sugar - that much sugar really made the rice a bit "watery". I've seen recipes for this dish that are more difficult - steaming sticky rice and boiling the coconut milk with sugar and salt to thicken it. But I'm giving this recipe 5 stars because of how easy it was to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
Perfect! Just like the restaurant. I tried some of the suggestions from other reviewers, so make sure you read them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I LOVED this recipe! I did use brown sugar because I ran out of white. I served it as dessert after salmon burgers, and it was the talk of the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Womack

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
cook rice with coconut milk not water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
Okay, but it just didn't live up to the sweet rice I've had in restuarants. Will keep looking for other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States