Sweet Rice and Mango Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
This is a very easy, but not so much authentic way to make this wonderful dessert. Instead of cooking the rice in water use the coconut milk and add sugar to taste. This will make the rice have the "sticky" consistency and the more beautiful appearance. The flavor using this method is much more creamy and rich while still being light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Luxembourg, Luxembourg, Belgium
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
Very yummy! This is my favorite desert that I order in Thai restaraunts. This recipe has the same flavor, but it doesn't look the same or have the same consistency as you would get in a restaraunt. But who cares! It tastes wonderful! I made the rice with my rice cooker and made it exactly as written, except I used Jasmine rice because it's all I had on hand. Next time I will use less sugar - that much sugar really made the rice a bit "watery". I've seen recipes for this dish that are more difficult - steaming sticky rice and boiling the coconut milk with sugar and salt to thicken it. But I'm giving this recipe 5 stars because of how easy it was to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grvqn
Reviewed: May 18, 2006
I really like this recipe. Very easy to make. I used my rice cooker. I put 3/4c. of rice and 1/2c. of sugar. Letit cook all together. This is a really light desert! Great for summer time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grvqn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
Perfect! Just like the restaurant. I tried some of the suggestions from other reviewers, so make sure you read them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
Delicious, just like the sweet sticky rice I've had in Thai restaurants. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I LOVED this recipe! I did use brown sugar because I ran out of white. I served it as dessert after salmon burgers, and it was the talk of the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Womack

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2006
I mixed the sugar in with the water, and also substituted some of the water with coconut milk. Unfortunately the mixture came out too watery. I've made great coconut rice with a similar recipe, so I must be doing something wrong somewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
mango sticky rice ROCKS! HAHA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by plant killer
Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This is a good easy way to do this desert. I love this no matter how it's cooked and I'm a chocolate person--you should try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
Had better from restaurants but this is a good recipe for a theme party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

How To Make Sushi Rice

Learn the best way to make sushi rice.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States