Sweet Restaurant Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2008
More like 4 and a half stars. A tad on the sweet side (should have listened to reviews and cut back on sugar some), but still so so yummy. Seemed dry when first put together, but it really creams up quickly in the frig - 2 hours is plenty of time for it to set up. I added two diced radishes, I think next time I will add four, to help the sweet factor and to add some more crunch. Aftter reading reviews, I added more onion, ground mustard and a tad more salt. Yummers! Served with ribs and baked beans. My boyfriend's take: "better than Southern cooking and I never had to leave my porch in Arizona." And he is picky about his slaw. POSTSCRIPT: I cut back on the sugar the next time, and it just didn't taste as good. I tried adding the sugar back in after I had already added the slaw -- didn't really work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
787 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pdizzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cole Camp, Missouri, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This was great! I used mayo instead of miracle whip and rice wine vinegar instead of white vinegar, but just barely cut back on the sugar because rice vinegar is slightly sweet. My friends agreed that it was even better than the slaw at the great BBQ place in town. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
574 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
The BEST slaw recipe ever!! I just finished making it and YUM-O!!! Can't wait to try it in a few hours. It taste's just like the coleslaw at the fast food chicken place. The only change that I made was I substituted celery seed for the poppy seed. I didn't have bagged slaw mix, shredded a head of cabbage and a carrot. I just wanted to add that I have use allrecipes for a few years and this is the first time I have taken the time to rate a recipe, it's that good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
502 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
Delicious cole slaw! Creamy and sweet, just the way I like it. I use real mayo, celery seed instead of poppy, a dollop of sour cream instead of the oil, and a little extra salt and pepper. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
270 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mallard, Iowa, USA
Living In: Emmetsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
I just made this coleslaw for a big cookout that I am hosting tomorrow and I had to rate this right away! It is delicious! I haven't even chilled it for the 2 hours and it is so good! I can't wait to share it with my friends and family. I followed the recipe exact with the exception of using mayo and no poppy seeds. This is my slaw recipe for now on, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
Being a midwesterner, I've had a lot of different kinds of restaurant and tavern coleslaws with my Friday night perch dinners, but this is the best by far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
This was absolutely delicious, and I'm not even a huge slaw fan! I used two bags of prepared slaw, and made the dressing as directed. Plenty of dressing. Refrigerated overnight, and plenty of sweet, creamy slaw. Nice recipe, I'll do this one many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
This is very good- almost the my family's long time recipe. One thing I do to make it creamier and less watery- I only put half the dressing on it to begin with. After an hour, I drain some of the dressing off, and then put the rest on- make a little extra dressing if needed. After you put any vinegar based dressing on cabbage, some of it's water will leach out, making it soupy- this makes it creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GatorGirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Great cole slaw dressing. I did use mayo and just a wee bit more vinegar, a little less sugar because we like the tangy taste. It was so easy to do and everyone loved it. This is my go-to slaw dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Redbird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Make this coleslaw!! I didn't make any chnages to the recipes, besides allowing it to marinate overnight, and it was a great success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,745) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States