Sweet Restaurant Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
This recipe made the coleslaw WAYY TOO SWEET for my taste!! Ive only put half of the sugar directed for, and had to adjust with extra vinegar.. I even used regular mayo.. Gives a good texture though.. Will try again next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sinlychea

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This is excellent and easy!! I made pulled pork BBQ and wanted a quick slaw to serve with it. I saw the stars and gave it a go. I eyed everything and it is still flawless- even right after making! I did use Duke' Mayo instead of Miracle Whip (which countered the sweetness of the sugar, making a more balanced slaw) This is THE keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by us2plus5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Culpeper, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I truly tried and liked this recipe as well as this being my first time ever making Cole slaw it's a keeper and just the right taste I like and have been accustomed to eating, being it was prepared by a few of the restaurants that I do occasionally go to. It's one that I will make from now on unless of course I find one better....which somehow I highly doubt it, but just in case it will still be at the top of my Cole slaw list (I also like how I can add or alter other ingredients) without changing the great flavor and taste...thanks for sharing your recipe with me/us Thank You Sandi Johnson
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by livelee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
First time making this I followed the recipe and found it wasn't that good. It tasted too strongly of Miracle Whip. The second time making it I use mayo and apple cider vinegar and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya Gullino

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cherryvale, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I am on a diet and can't eat store bought coleslaw anymore. So I started looking for one I could easily convert to a lower calorie version and found this one. I simply substituted Miracle Whip lite for regular, granulated Splenda for sugar, and 2 Tbs of sour cream and 2 Tbs of vinegar for the oil and vinegar combination above. By my rough calculations it cut calories from 1250 calories for the entire batch down to about 380 calories for my light version! It still tasted great, better than 50-75% of restaurant store bought full calorie kind. The only change is I may try to knock out a little of the Miracle Whip as there is a lot of coating on mine because I didn't check until later but my cole slaw mix was only 14 ounces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This is a wonderful recipe for coleslaw. It's easy to make and was a great compliment to bbq pulled pork. I did make one adjustment to cut down on the sweetness. Used only a 1/4 of sugar and it was still fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
With a few tweaks this recipe has been a huge hit in my family. Some do not like the onion but like the onion flavor. So, I thoroughly mix in plenty of onion powder with the slaw to start and let it sit for awhile. I double the recipe accept that I put in under a half a cup of sugar. A half cup was still to sweet for us even after doubling everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grewvy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Fixed this yesterday for a small family get together and it was a HUGE hit!! My husband, who despises coleslaw usually actually said to me that this was something he would actually eat on a regular basis! O_O Everyone gave it rave reviews and said how good it was. One person even scraped the bowl to get every last piece of it that was left. I did make a couple of minor changes that I don't think made too much of a difference in the end result. I used celery seed since I couldn't find poppy. I also used about 2-3 tbs less sugar, apple cider vinegar instead of white, and light flavor olive oil instead of veg. This was great. Wish I had made 2 batches instead of just the one. I will def make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
My absolute favorite coleslaw recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharlotteMay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
My family loves this recipe- even my daughter who is not a coleslaw fan. I did make a few minor alterations. I replaced the dressing with Duke's low fat mayonnaise. I cut the sugar in half, added an additional 1/4 teaspoon salt and 3 additional Tablespoons vinegar. I also added about 1/2 teaspoon fresh cracked pepper. The result was delicious and not too sweet with the perfect vinegar bite. Would highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,722) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States