Sweet Restaurant Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mixit
Reviewed: May 28, 2015
Even though the recipe states 'sweet' slaw, this had far too much sugar and I did my own altering after tasting to fix it. However, what I absolutely loved in it was the onion and poppy seeds. I used red onion and was just right. Those two ingredients were a very nice touch and worthy of a repeat performance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2015
Very Good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2015
used mayo instead. Got so many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
Great recipe! After reading other reviews, I used mayo and celery seed in place of Miracle Whip and poppy seeds. I also added finely diced red and yellow peppers alone with the onions. This is my first time making coleslaw, so no more deli/fast food chains, I can make it myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
The best coleslaw recipe ever!! So glad I found this! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
This is now my go-to recipe for coleslaw. So yummy. As is its a 4.5 star, with my changes its a 5. My changes include using mayo instead of miracle whip and used 1/3 cup of sugar instead of 1/2 cup. I made it both ways and the miracle whip way was too sweet. I love this recipe and will make this anytime I'm making bbq! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
So good! I love coleslaw but never found a recipe I liked. Did not have sour cream, did not add onion and only added 1/3 cup of sugar as do not like too sweet. Used apple cider vinegar, Hellman's mayo and celery seed instead of poppy. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cuteba
Reviewed: May 7, 2015
Loved it! Delucious and refreshing, I substituted brown sugar for white and used olive oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
Decided to give this high rated slaw a try. I used real mayo instead of the suggested creamy salad dressing. I also cut the sugar to 1/3 cup. I didn't have poppy seeds so I added a dash of black coarse pepper. It turned out AMAZING!! My husband and I LOVED it. I served it along side BBQ pulled pork sandwiches. It is definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
I read the reviews, but forgot to cut the sugar by about 1/2 as advised by many reviewers. My husband said it was too sweet, but I liked it. I agree with my husband that the dressing was too sweet, but it was still very, very good, for my taste--not my hubby's. I added a little chopped pineapple & raisins. One reviewer suggested to sprinkle sugar on the cabbage & let it drain to get some of the cabbage juice out, for a less runny salad. I did that about an hour or so before adding the dressing & then letting it sit overnight. A lot of fluid did drain ahead of time, but the salad was still pretty runny. The cabbage & carrot were still crispy & wonderful. Next time, I'll sprinkle the sugar, let it drain longer, & cut the sugar in the recipe by more than 1/2. I'd say if you make it a day ahead, let it sit in a colander just before serving, or use less dressing...OR add the dressing just before serving. My "Amazing Chicken" and potato salad were on my plate in a pool of slaw juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blujnqueen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,807) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States