Sweet Pumpkin Seeds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I put these in the oven while guests were arriving at my son's birthday party. The aroma of cinnamon filled the house and they were a hit with the guests. I had about four cups of pumpkin seeds that were soaking in salt water overnight. I dried them in the oven for about 15 minutes at 350 degrees and then added the sugar and cinnamon and turned them every 10 minutes because of the moisture in the soaked seeds. They were nice and crunchy with a sweet and salty taste. I started eating them and couldn't stop. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4mychubbyhubby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I've always done roasted seeds with salt and decided to try a sweet version this year ... this recipe was pretty good, but not really what I expected. They were very well coated and crunchy - almost like a caramel corn, and if you ate them with your eyes shut, you'd be hard-pressed to know there was a pumpkin seed underneath. I think they would have been fine without the last one or two coatings. I did not have parchment paper and just used a lightly greased cookie sheet and it seemed to work out okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Great recipe. If you like cinnamon and sugar you will love these seeds!! My whole family loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tifflambert01

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bryan, Ohio, USA
Living In: Archbold, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
i love this recipe was fun and the kids can even help out. i put these in the lunch boxes and they always got ate :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Destiney Yates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
The flavor is a nice change from the norm but the texture and recipe gave me a little trouble. Everything was going great until the last addition of the remaining 2 TBS of sugar and the last 10 min in the oven. The final bake resulted in the sugar burning a little, quickly melting and spreading out and making more of a "brittle" out of the seeds. As "christalmiron" mentioned, they had to be individually broken apart and the excess "brittle" broken off each seed. The pumpkin is lost a little under all the sugar and cinnamon but the coating flavor is very good. We enjoyed trying a new recipe and I will try again and watch them very closely toward the end. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
they have a pretty good flavor, but they are a mess to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
These turned out really good! I'm not a huge fan of pumpkin seeds, but wanted my kids to try them and I have to say, I was impressed. They were easy to make and not messy at all... I didn't have parchment so I used aluminum foil and lightly sprayed it with cooking spray. I stirred the seeds and butter in a bowl to coat, then added the cinnamon and sugar (per recipe instructions)... stirred again to coat and baked... at each interval, I put the seeds back in the bowl to mix and recoat. Had to cook an additional 10 min to get the consistency I wanted, but other than that, I didn't change anything :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WDSCULLY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
yummy and perfect. I don't even like pumpkin seeds usually but these are good. I followed the recipe to the letter except I think I used about 2.5 TBS of butter since that is what I had left of one stick. I had no issues with it turning into brittle at the end. as soon as I pulled it out of the oven I stirred it and tapped any clumps with the edge of my spoon so maybe that was the trick. Oh, and per one suggestion I dumped the seeds back into the bowl I used to coat them with butter and Cin/Suger the first time and stirred them in that after each baking cycle so again maybe that help my seeds to stay separate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I wanted to refrain from rating because I dont know what went wrong...I followed the directions, but it was a disaster! :( I tried 2 different trays with the same end result, hardened, candified, stuck on seeds that I eventually had to heat up and scrape off the pans. Anyway, the house smelled good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FAIR_LADY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Ok so this was the first time I tried this recipe it tasted great but was a pain in the you know what to make first it was impossible to dry the seeds 100% second while it was cooking it was a sticky mess third after i took them out to cool they were all stuck together like peanut brittle so i had to take an extra hour to separate every last seed due to the fact it is my sons snack day to bring snack to school on Monday and he is only in kindergarten and this is what he wanted to bring for snack. I never thought it would be this hard to make a snack for my son. the only thing good I can say after all that was said and done was that they had a great taste to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

See the three simple steps to roasting pumpkin seeds.

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

Spiced Pumpkin Seeds

Oven-roasted pumpkin seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States