Sweet Potatoes with Sausage and Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
David and James both loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I thought this was pretty good. Definitely use a salsa you like--the salsa is the predominant flavor in this. I didn't see the need for oil with the sausage or after the sausage. Even after making sure the grease of the sausage was out of the pan, there was just enough left to ensure that the peppers and garlic didn't stick (I didn't use onions). I do have a non stick pan, so with another pan some oil might be necessary with the pepper mixture, but I would argue the sausage doesn't need oil to cook at all in any pan--it's already greasy. The sweet potatoes were definitely done at about 10 minutes--they would've turned to mush after that. Other than peeling and dicing the sweet potatoes (always a workout for me!) this was a relatively quick and easy dinner. You could always prepare the sausage and sweet potatoes ahead of time, which is what I did, then put everything else together 20 minutes before you want dinner. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Good. Needs more sausage though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Made this for dinner tonight and it was, okay. Boyfriend gave it a B+. My Problem with it was the sweet potatoes became extremely extremely mushy and just ruined the texture of the meal. I would STRONGLY suggest to just add the potatoes right before serving, if you time it right the potatoes will still be hot when you add them to the bowl. Also ran out of Cumin so I used Chili Powder and Coriander. Overall was a good meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bri2006

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This was good. It was quick. My husband requested the next time I use link Italian sausage cut up into chunks rather then the ground sausage. He's a real meat eater and the ground sausage makes the meal almost seem meatless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Very enjoyable - great leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Not as tasty as I thought it would be. The sweet potatoes do not seem to go well with this dish. I would have liked it with rice instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Circleville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I really enjoyed this meal and it tasted even better as leftovers. The only problem I have with it, is that it wasn't very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Cozy fall dish. Made no changes and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
We used a bit of spicy salsa with the chunky salsa to give it that extra kick! This was delicious as the main course and as a microwaved lunch the next day! I found it a bit mushy, but we added extra salsa so that's probably why - it didn't take away from the deliciousness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States