Sweet Potatoes with Pecans and Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Alli
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Used maple breakfast sausage. There were no leftovers from this one -- everyone devoured it. A nice modification for this would be to peel, dice, and then roast the potatoes, to make more of a hash-type casserole. Serve it with a poached, sunny-side-up, or other slightly runny egg over it, and you have a really delicious breakfast that looks like you worked really hard on, when in reality it was as simple as can be! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
No one else in my house was crazy about this, but I love it! Make sure you use maple sausage so the flavors mesh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Delicious! I used chopped up link sausages, and made sure to leave the sweet potatoes a bit undercooked in the first cooking because I wanted them to maintain some nice bite-texture. I also added a chopped honeycrisp apple and a handful of raisins. Delish and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna_jean

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I had a friend bake this for Thanksgiving and it was fabulous! I loved it so much it will permanently remain on our turkey day menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erintopia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This was delicious. I substituted lite smoked sausage cut into small pieces and it was equally as good. I also made the entire recipe in the microwave to save time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belmond, Iowa, USA
Living In: Roseville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This was really good. I like sweet potatoes with brown sugar, butter and cinnamon, but was looking for something a little different for Thanksgiving dinner today. The sausage was awesome. I used links and cut them into small pieces after cooking. My only mistake was overcooking the sweet potatoes. It turned out to be more like a casserole than sweet potato chunks, but the taste was just as awesome. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I used home made sausage (yum!), added a chopped Granny Smith apple and a handful of dried cranberries and chopped celery. I was thinking of using persimmons along with the apples. Think it might be good that way, too! I also omitted the sugar and cinnamon, as the fruit added the sweetness. Made a great, healthful all-in-one Autumn dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
A very good recipe, I followed the advice of someone else and crumbled the sausage which worked great. We found it a little greasy so next time I will eliminate the butter, as even after draining the sausage there was still grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Delicious! I had Sweet Italian Brats on hand, so I chopped them into tiny pieces in place of ground sausage. I Loved it! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This was a hit, even with the people who don't like sweet potatoes. I'm sure it will become a Thanksgiving staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States