Sweet Potato and Turkey Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
We have a tradition of having shepherd's pie and angel food cake for Christmas dinner. It is easy to make ahead, and it's well...shepherd's and angels, get it? But I wanted a more flavorful festive recipe. After searching through a couple dozen, I chose this one. It's healthy, delicious and had all the wonderful aromas and flavors of a Thanksgiving or Christmas dinner. I had some left over mushrooms, and I mixed it with the meat. This will be my Christmas Eve Shepherd's pie for years to come! Thank you very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kalgal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA
Living In: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This total comfort food for me!! This recipe was deelish. My husband ate leftovers of this for days (which is hard to get him to do). I made this almost like the recipe states..except that I didn't use the white potato. I used about 4 LARGE sweet potatoes that I boiled until soft..mashed with some butter and a little bit of sour cream. This made a LOT of mashed sweets, but I had a little cooks treat while the casserole was baking. I sauted the onions, garlic, and carrot in some oil..then removed and browned the ground turkey..added the cooked vege's back in and added some corn and peas. I also added about 2 cups of chicken broth and then let this cook for a little bit. I then added a slurry of cornstarch to the turkey mixture and let that thicken. I added poultry seasoning, salt and pepper, some parsley. This turned out really well and I'm sure that I'll make this again. Its relatively healthy and tasty and sure to please. I bet kids would like it too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NCRAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clementon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
On the dry side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nmschalk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This is absolutely my favorite dish I have tried on AR thus far- and I've tried and loved a lot! Only made a few changes based on what I had- I left out the carrots and peas, and used one egg in place of the substitute. Also, I had no browning sauce (nor did I know where to find it) so I left that out. My husband raved about it! And has asked for it every night since. So, thanks for sharing Christine M! This will become a regular in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This was a little bland for my taste. I made some homemade cranberry sauce to go with it and that helped a bit. I also thought the ground turkey got a little dried out after all that cooking and would have prefered piececs ofleftover roasted turkey. Overall a good base, but not spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
This is really tasty! I made it with chicken breasts sliced up really thin. I did not have the browning sauce so I didn't use any. I served cranberry sauce on the side. Yummy and healthy! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
This was o.k....not great. I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Christine - thanks for the great recipe! I made it for dinner tonight, but everything smelled so good that I had to sneak some early. I made this with shredded chicken because that's what I had. I also put in lima beans because they're my favorite and seemed perfect for me. Tonight when I eat for real, I'll be serving with some cranberry sauce. I can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Delicious! I didn't peel the potatoes, and didn't have a few of the ingredients, but I made it anyway! I had never made mashed potatoes with egg and sour cream; we liked how light and fluffy these were! We will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Not going to lie- I was a little scared of this one! I wasn't sure that the ground turkey would go good with the sweet taters, same with the sour cream and egg in the sweet potatoes. But it turned out really good!! I used a cornbread stuffing mix, and added mushroom and extra onion. It was so yummy, I will deff be making again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayla Kinney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellington, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States