Sweet Potato and Turkey Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I'm giving this three stars because we liked the taste. However, if I were to make it again, I'd make alot of changes. First question: why all the pots? Why cook the sweet potato and the russet potato separately, and then, in step 3, put them in a bowl together and mix? I don't get that. So, you've got three pots there, then the pan where you cook the turkey, then the casserole dish that you bake it in. I'm not a new cook - been cooking over 40 years, but I don't care for recipes that are this labor-intensive. Next time I make it, I plan to buy some fat free turkey or chicken gravy, add it to the cooked or ground turkey, then assemble as directed. Done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This was awful! It sounded good, but what a waste of time and raw materials! I really couldn't eat it! It took forever to put it together and what a disappointment. The directions are very confusing! I don't usually comment on recipes, but I had to this time. I used leftover turkey, chopped up. Overall, wished I had never wasted my good stuff on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miamisburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
I made a few changes to this so it would be a little more calorie wise. I liked it, but it was a bit bland so I kicked it up with chilies and cinnamon instead of nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by courteepoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
This is a great recipe. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Taste is good, but too dry. I'll try it again but will make some changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Surprisingly delicious. Takes a while to prepare but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
very good! skipped the egg, white potato, and sour cream in the sweet potato top, otherwise made as prepared. My son (20 months old) loved it, the sweet potato top really is a nice compliment to the dish. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
We did enjoy this dish but it was a little dry. I also didn't like the amount of dishes it took to prep this. I used a frozen small mixed vegetable blend instead of the fresh carrots which had the peas and corn already in it also. The nutmeg sprinkled on top of the sweet potatoes was a nice touch though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
SO YUMMY. All that was missing was a side of cranberry sauce. i used canned vegges and did not have celery or browning sauce and it still came out great. best recipe i have even got from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
We used leftover stuffing and turkey from Thanksgiving... AWESOME! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States