Sweet Potato and Hazelnut Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
As the recipe stands, it was not what I expected. Although my wife and I love sweet potatoes prepared many different ways, this was not one of our favorites. I'd love to give it five stars, but I just could not do it based on the texture and flavor. There are some great reviews and we all have our preferences. I gave it a shot because it was different and we love the natural flavor of sweet potatoes but just wasn't over the top for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Guy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Dorado, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
GAH! So tasty, and SO SIMPLE. We didn't have hazelnuts, but walnuts were just as delicious I'm sure. And the apple cider is a PERFECT complement! YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
DELICIOUS! And I paired these with the recommended beef tenderloin for a great combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity516

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chelsea, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
This was delicious. I made it as a side dish to Rachael Ray's Peruvian Roast Chicken (which is fab to start with). Our guests raved about it, and I will unquestionably make it again. I did add add a few spices (cinnamon & cloves, I think?), and next time I'll add a bit more. Fantastic though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I liked how creamy these potatoes became. However, I couldn't taste the nuts at all and only used 1/2 the cream and sourcream. You could probably get away with using lowfat on both those items and it wouldn't matter. The only problem is that they are very bland. I made them with the Beef Tenderloin/Port Shiitake reduction. The flavors went okay together, but the beef in that reduction was WAY TO SWEET!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haworth, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
It was good, but seemed kind of bland to me. Maybe I just picked out bad potatoes? I added a little bit more cider and some brown sugar, but couldn't get it to taste just right. (to me).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
This does go very well with the Shitake / Port reduction tenderloin. The texture is very smooth, like a puree. The nutty / earthy hazelnut flavor is very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave The Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
I didn't have any hazelnuts so instead I used pecans. The only modification I did was adding 1/2 cup of apple juice to take out some of the sour cream taste. Next time I might substitute the apple cider with the apple juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States