Sweet Potato and Curried Red Lentil Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I think there is a mistake in the directions. The submitter states that she uses a "curried red lentil sauce" in place of tomato sauce but the directions call for it all to be stirred in together. I came up with nothing but mush. It still tasted good but the texture was a bit off-putting. Next time, I'll try frying up the onions, garlic, spices (which is more traditional Indian style) and add the lentils to that. Then make the sweet potato/eggplant mixture on it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Excellent pizza! I did everything pretty much as explained in the recipe, except I used mozzarella and goat cheese to give it a little kick. I also used whole wheat pita bread instead of pizza crust. It makes really good individual pizzas and everyone can modify it to their liking. To use pitas, cook 10 minutes on a pan and then an additional 3-5 minutes directly on the rack to make it a little more crispy. Goat cheese works really well with this pizza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
This is great with out the crust and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I was very skeptical about this pizza, but it turned out great! The lentils were very mushy, so I just mixed them in with the veggies. I used yams instead of sweet potatoes and added a bit of nutmeg. I also added more cheese than it called for and also topped it off with some longhorn goat cheese. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I'm sorry but this was just awful. I like all of the ingredients (eggplant, sweet potato, lentils) which is why I tried it, but I guess the combination just doesn't work on a pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I'm rather new to being a vegetarian and to cooking in general, but I found this recipe easy and delicious!!! I substituted diced tomatoes and some balsamic vinaigrette and it was one of the best meals I've ever had. I tried it on mini pita pizza crusts and it was good and I ate the leftovers without the bread which was also good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I spread the mixture over the equivalent of 2 crusts as others have sggested. I used extra sweet potatoes to replace the omitted eggplant. A 1/2 lb. of mozzarella cheese replaced the romano cheese called for. We loved the spices! This is a great pizza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Unusual and wonderful! I loved that it was vegetarian but my family is full of carnivores so I added some cubed left over chicken. I could eat the topping just on its own without the crust, it's just wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Has more fiber in it than any human would ever need; pretty tasty, but sits in the stomach like a ton of bricks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorlene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Interesting way to use the ingredients in a pizza. I would make this again, but change a few things as I found it to be a bit bland and I had to add a lot of salt to it. Next time I would use a few different types of cheese and use more than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIPERDOG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

These vegetarian burritos have a slightly spicy and utterly addictive flavor.

Potato Pesto Pizza

See how to make a flavor-packed potato and pesto pizza.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States