Sweet Potato and Curried Red Lentil Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
This made a delicious meal! However, I had issues with the recipe. First, it took the lentils 1 1/2 hours to cook. Second, the description says "red lentil sauce;" instead it's just a layer of lentils. Also, it made way too much for one pizza crust. Ate with knife and fork and it was very messy. I would make this again, but the recipe is a bit misleading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
I was looking up different ways to use up my lentils without resorting to soup again. This pizza is actually pretty tasty AFTER changing the recipe a bit. Lentils take twice as long to cook. I mixed the lentils with the other stuff cause the layer seemed pointless. Also I HIGHLY RECOMMEND getting TWO pizza crusts... way too much stuff for one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Has more fiber in it than any human would ever need; pretty tasty, but sits in the stomach like a ton of bricks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorlene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
one of the best recipes we've ever made! we were making this vegan and couldn't find a ready-made crust that was vegan so we substituted wheat pita bread and decreased the cooking time. came out wonderfully. takes a little work but absolutely worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I think there is a mistake in the directions. The submitter states that she uses a "curried red lentil sauce" in place of tomato sauce but the directions call for it all to be stirred in together. I came up with nothing but mush. It still tasted good but the texture was a bit off-putting. Next time, I'll try frying up the onions, garlic, spices (which is more traditional Indian style) and add the lentils to that. Then make the sweet potato/eggplant mixture on it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
This is great with out the crust and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Unusual and wonderful! I loved that it was vegetarian but my family is full of carnivores so I added some cubed left over chicken. I could eat the topping just on its own without the crust, it's just wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Interesting way to use the ingredients in a pizza. I would make this again, but change a few things as I found it to be a bit bland and I had to add a lot of salt to it. Next time I would use a few different types of cheese and use more than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIPERDOG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
i thought it was great and i love onions so that made it more better than it was :] hahaha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Excellent pizza! I did everything pretty much as explained in the recipe, except I used mozzarella and goat cheese to give it a little kick. I also used whole wheat pita bread instead of pizza crust. It makes really good individual pizzas and everyone can modify it to their liking. To use pitas, cook 10 minutes on a pan and then an additional 3-5 minutes directly on the rack to make it a little more crispy. Goat cheese works really well with this pizza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

These vegetarian burritos have a slightly spicy and utterly addictive flavor.

Potato Pesto Pizza

See how to make a flavor-packed potato and pesto pizza.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States