Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
Dang girl, this is really a wonderful bread. I love love love the combination of the sweet potato, and coconut...and the spice level is great. I left out the nuts, I find they distract me when I am enjoying a quick bread. I made it in a loaf pan and it was perfect. Next time I may fancy it up in a tube pan, but it is a beautiful thing even when it is loafing. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
We made this into muffins. It made 2 1/2 dozen. My family had them for breakfast all week. Really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
What a treat this was...Moist and yummy. The only change I made was to add Raisins. it was so quick and easy too I would def. make this again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tonirjenkins
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Made it as written, substituted 1/2 the flour with wheat and 1/2 the sugar with splenda. So delicious even my 2 and 4 year olds liked it. This will definitely go on my make again list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
This loaf is not sweet and is very dense. I just took some out of the freezer from last year, and it froze very well. I believe I made a half recipe at the time. Now I'm thinking that maybe coconut oil could be worked into this bread somehow, possibly replacing some of the butter. A delicious loaf and distinctly different from pumpkin bread that can be too spicy sometimes. Thanks Maybelle, nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
While this was simple to put together and it baked up just fine, I thought the flavor was just "OK."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: The Villages, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sdasilva76
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
I tweaked it a little but it was unbelievably good. I used half butter and half coconut oil, a little less sugar and sweetened flaked coconut (it was all I could find). I also left out the nuts and added some craisins. My friends and family can't stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Parkland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I MADE THIS BREAD AND REALLY LIKE THE DENSE TEXTURE.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Very nice moist loaf. I substituted 1/2 the butter for coconut oil and enjoyed the enhanced coconut flavor; also substituted 1/2 c of white flour for flax flour. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Great recipe! I baked a large sweet potato the night before and only got about 1 3/4 cups of potato so I used canned pumpkin to make up the rest. The potatoes didn't mash very well so I pushed them through my potato ricer and they came out great. I used sweetened coconut since it was all I had on hand and it worked well. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States