Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
What a treat this was...Moist and yummy. The only change I made was to add Raisins. it was so quick and easy too I would def. make this again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tonirjenkins
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Made it as written, substituted 1/2 the flour with wheat and 1/2 the sugar with splenda. So delicious even my 2 and 4 year olds liked it. This will definitely go on my make again list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
This loaf is not sweet and is very dense. I just took some out of the freezer from last year, and it froze very well. I believe I made a half recipe at the time. Now I'm thinking that maybe coconut oil could be worked into this bread somehow, possibly replacing some of the butter. A delicious loaf and distinctly different from pumpkin bread that can be too spicy sometimes. Thanks Maybelle, nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
While this was simple to put together and it baked up just fine, I thought the flavor was just "OK."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: The Villages, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sdasilva76
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
I tweaked it a little but it was unbelievably good. I used half butter and half coconut oil, a little less sugar and sweetened flaked coconut (it was all I could find). I also left out the nuts and added some craisins. My friends and family can't stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Parkland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I MADE THIS BREAD AND REALLY LIKE THE DENSE TEXTURE.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Very nice moist loaf. I substituted 1/2 the butter for coconut oil and enjoyed the enhanced coconut flavor; also substituted 1/2 c of white flour for flax flour. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Great recipe! I baked a large sweet potato the night before and only got about 1 3/4 cups of potato so I used canned pumpkin to make up the rest. The potatoes didn't mash very well so I pushed them through my potato ricer and they came out great. I used sweetened coconut since it was all I had on hand and it worked well. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I love to bake pumpkin bread, but have never tried making sweet potato bread before. My first thought was, "YUM!" This bread has all the best flavors of autumn, and is incredibly moist and satisfying. Because I like to eat breads like this for breakfast, I tweaked the ingredients to make a more wholesome and nutritious bread. I used white whole wheat flour, replaced the 2 cups of white sugar with 1 cup of sucanat (natural dehydrated cane sugar), and replaced the butter with applesauce. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delavan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Very good! I've also made this with mashed very black plantains with equally good results ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Marlton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States