Sweet Potato and Carrot Soup with Cardamom Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
This is a lovely, warming soup. It is easy and quick to make. I am not a huge cardamom fan, but put in the full amount and I did not find it overpowering. I used fresh ginger and added a clove of garlic. Because my vegetable broth was low sodium I found I needed a bit more salt to bring out the flavors. It was nicely spicy. Adjust as needed for your particular ingredients and preferences - you will be pleased with this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
This was terrific. My adult son liked it. In and of itself, that would lead me to make it again. It froze well too. I didn't make any changes. It doesn't make very much. I will read other reviews to see if anyone doubled it successfully. It might be too hard to manage pureeing it with a blender, but I use a hand held one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I made this as is and it was good, but when I changed it up a little it was better. I roasted my sweet potato and carrot chunks with salt, pepper, and cinnamon first (~20 mins on 350F) that added a lot of depth to their flavor. I also avoided the butter and used cooking spray, added minced garlic and blended with my immersion blender (sooo much easier than transferring). I also added a dollop of greek yogurt at the end to make it extra creamy. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Elizabeth
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Fantastic! I made only 2 changes - I used 1/2 the amount of cardamom and used garlic instead of onion. Loved the spicy kick. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Wanted to love this but didn't. On paper this recipe looked fantastic as I really like all of the ingredients except cardamom. I omitted the cardamom but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. The color was beautiful and the texture was perfect...the flavors just did't wow me. A dollop of plain Greek yogurt the night I made it did improve it, as did sitting overnight. Overall it wasn't bad but I will continue looking for a keeper recipe for sweet potato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This soup was delicious! Pureeing it made it smooth and the flavor was phenomenal. I left out the tumeric & red pepper flakes because I didn't have any, but this soup was still very tasty and the cayenne gave it the zing I wanted. Instead of plain yogurt, we stirred in a little half & half just before eating it, which made it nice and creamy. Very filling. My husband and I wanted to eat the entire batch, but we saved half for our lunch tomorrow - took a lot of will power to do that! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Very fragrant, very easy, and very healthy! I added a dallop of plain yogurt and it was delicious! What a wonderful soup for Fall, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tugba Emily Madaus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vernon Hills, Illinois, USA
Living In: Middleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
The easiest soup to make! And delicious. The best soup I've ever tasted. Yummy! If you like spicy, make this soup. Five stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Perfect balance of sweet and spicy. I used fresh ginger and added garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Great flavor :) my pinch of cayenne was a little to much,so I added heavy whipping cream. The soup turned out great.Would make again with the heavy whipping cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States