Sweet Potato and Carrot Soup with Cardamom Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I served this as a first course to a fancy dinner party. Everyone loved it. I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of added more water/broth to improve the consistency. Since I used cayenne, I served yogurt with fresh dill on the side. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
This is a very tasty soup because of the spices. It's a perfect soup for a cold Fall or Winter day. The two little changes I will do next time is to add the hot spices at the end while blending so that you can test taste. Mine was a little bit too hot. I think I would also do a creamy version next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Delicious! I did not have tumeric, so I put in a little Tandoori spice in addition to the other spices. I used fresh ginger, freshly ground cardamom seeds and a little black pepper. The only other change I made was to blend half of it and leave chunks for a hearty stew like consistency, and I doubled it for left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This soup is fantastic! I used fresh ginger instead of dried, and included a couple of cloves of garlic. I also added some red lentils to the sweet potato and carrots while it was cooking, and blended in some soft tofu to give it some protein at the end. It's a hearty, healthy, feel-good meal and is forever included in my rotation. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
This was very sweet, spicy and rich. Yum! I didn't have cardamom but used everything else. Plus I added 2 cloves of garlic and served it with garlicky homemade croutons on top. You should probably not serve this alone for the whole meal because like the other reviewer said, its a bit too rich to be your whole meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
Everyone loved this soup. I followed the directions by the book and it turned out perfect. Its very similiar to a soup that I had at a tea shop in Oakwood, Ohio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reg
Home Town: Prestonsburg, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Yummy! This soup is so yummy and comforting! I doubled the recipe, and put a little too much cayenne, so I added some cream cheese to cool it off. Perfect! Thank you! The cardamom and the sweet potato go so well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
I modified this due to diet restrictions. Left out the butter. However I fresh ground the cardamon and the cinnamon. I also added Garlic which made up for the lack of the butter nicely. I might add Butter Buds the next time and use a light vegetable broth instead. It took the changes well and I don't think I lost the original recipe in doing so. I highly recommend this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by philocrates
Living In: Yellowknife, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This was a really good recipe! I added a clove of garlic but I think it'd be better without it. I substituted half of the butter for olive oil, added a pinch of brown sugar, and substituted coreander since I didn't have cardamom. It's a bit spicier than I thought it would be, but a good balance. I added some crushed pita chips on top when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
This is wonderful! I used chicken stock for the water, but other than that I followed the recipe to a T. Any ideas on what other dishes would go well with this soup?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States