Sweet Potato and Carrot Soup with Cardamom Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
I modified this due to diet restrictions. Left out the butter. However I fresh ground the cardamon and the cinnamon. I also added Garlic which made up for the lack of the butter nicely. I might add Butter Buds the next time and use a light vegetable broth instead. It took the changes well and I don't think I lost the original recipe in doing so. I highly recommend this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by philocrates
Living In: Yellowknife, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
This was very sweet, spicy and rich. Yum! I didn't have cardamom but used everything else. Plus I added 2 cloves of garlic and served it with garlicky homemade croutons on top. You should probably not serve this alone for the whole meal because like the other reviewer said, its a bit too rich to be your whole meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I served this as a first course to a fancy dinner party. Everyone loved it. I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of added more water/broth to improve the consistency. Since I used cayenne, I served yogurt with fresh dill on the side. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
This is a very tasty soup because of the spices. It's a perfect soup for a cold Fall or Winter day. The two little changes I will do next time is to add the hot spices at the end while blending so that you can test taste. Mine was a little bit too hot. I think I would also do a creamy version next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This soup is fantastic! I used fresh ginger instead of dried, and included a couple of cloves of garlic. I also added some red lentils to the sweet potato and carrots while it was cooking, and blended in some soft tofu to give it some protein at the end. It's a hearty, healthy, feel-good meal and is forever included in my rotation. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
Everyone loved this soup. I followed the directions by the book and it turned out perfect. Its very similiar to a soup that I had at a tea shop in Oakwood, Ohio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reg
Home Town: Prestonsburg, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Yummy! This soup is so yummy and comforting! I doubled the recipe, and put a little too much cayenne, so I added some cream cheese to cool it off. Perfect! Thank you! The cardamom and the sweet potato go so well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This was a really good recipe! I added a clove of garlic but I think it'd be better without it. I substituted half of the butter for olive oil, added a pinch of brown sugar, and substituted coreander since I didn't have cardamom. It's a bit spicier than I thought it would be, but a good balance. I added some crushed pita chips on top when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Delicious! I did not have tumeric, so I put in a little Tandoori spice in addition to the other spices. I used fresh ginger, freshly ground cardamom seeds and a little black pepper. The only other change I made was to blend half of it and leave chunks for a hearty stew like consistency, and I doubled it for left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
This is wonderful! I used chicken stock for the water, but other than that I followed the recipe to a T. Any ideas on what other dishes would go well with this soup?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States