Sweet Potato and Carrot Soup with Cardamom Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This soup is fantastic! I used fresh ginger instead of dried, and included a couple of cloves of garlic. I also added some red lentils to the sweet potato and carrots while it was cooking, and blended in some soft tofu to give it some protein at the end. It's a hearty, healthy, feel-good meal and is forever included in my rotation. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
pretty good. i also would decrease the cardamom a bit, otherwise great flavor and spice. i did add a bit more broth at the end, as it was pretty thick. Served it with grilled cheese the first night, and over brown rice for lunch the next day. flavors really developed overnight, and it made great leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Yummy! This soup is so yummy and comforting! I doubled the recipe, and put a little too much cayenne, so I added some cream cheese to cool it off. Perfect! Thank you! The cardamom and the sweet potato go so well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I enjoyed this very much. The golden orange made a beautiful presentation. The sweetness from the onions, carrots, and sweet potatoes made a mellow flavor profile, while the seasonings added just the right amount of exotic interest to make this soup memorable. Be aware, the red pepper flakes and cayenne do give it a little bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marlakay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This was a really hearty and tasty recipe! I even used half a bag of frozen carrots to save time and didn't notice a difference in flavor. Also added four cups of stock instead of the water and skipped the red pepper flakes, so my version probably had a little more salt and a little less kick --- but it was still plenty spicy. Served it with plain yogurt to ease the burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
I modified this due to diet restrictions. Left out the butter. However I fresh ground the cardamon and the cinnamon. I also added Garlic which made up for the lack of the butter nicely. I might add Butter Buds the next time and use a light vegetable broth instead. It took the changes well and I don't think I lost the original recipe in doing so. I highly recommend this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by philocrates
Living In: Yellowknife, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
This was very sweet, spicy and rich. Yum! I didn't have cardamom but used everything else. Plus I added 2 cloves of garlic and served it with garlicky homemade croutons on top. You should probably not serve this alone for the whole meal because like the other reviewer said, its a bit too rich to be your whole meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
This is a very tasty soup because of the spices. It's a perfect soup for a cold Fall or Winter day. The two little changes I will do next time is to add the hot spices at the end while blending so that you can test taste. Mine was a little bit too hot. I think I would also do a creamy version next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
excellent flavor & thick soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
I like the taste of cardamom a lot, but I think it overpowers the rest of the flavours in this soup. The red pepper flakes add a very nice tingle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States