Sweet Potato and Carrot Soup with Cardamom Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
This is a very tasty soup because of the spices. It's a perfect soup for a cold Fall or Winter day. The two little changes I will do next time is to add the hot spices at the end while blending so that you can test taste. Mine was a little bit too hot. I think I would also do a creamy version next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
We really liked this soup. It has some good spice. I am interested to try a creamy version and add coconut milk. We will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jarvis, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
I modified this due to diet restrictions. Left out the butter. However I fresh ground the cardamon and the cinnamon. I also added Garlic which made up for the lack of the butter nicely. I might add Butter Buds the next time and use a light vegetable broth instead. It took the changes well and I don't think I lost the original recipe in doing so. I highly recommend this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by philocrates
Living In: Yellowknife, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Yummy! This soup is so yummy and comforting! I doubled the recipe, and put a little too much cayenne, so I added some cream cheese to cool it off. Perfect! Thank you! The cardamom and the sweet potato go so well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
Everyone loved this soup. I followed the directions by the book and it turned out perfect. Its very similiar to a soup that I had at a tea shop in Oakwood, Ohio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reg
Home Town: Prestonsburg, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
This was very sweet, spicy and rich. Yum! I didn't have cardamom but used everything else. Plus I added 2 cloves of garlic and served it with garlicky homemade croutons on top. You should probably not serve this alone for the whole meal because like the other reviewer said, its a bit too rich to be your whole meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This soup is fantastic! I used fresh ginger instead of dried, and included a couple of cloves of garlic. I also added some red lentils to the sweet potato and carrots while it was cooking, and blended in some soft tofu to give it some protein at the end. It's a hearty, healthy, feel-good meal and is forever included in my rotation. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
I loved the combination of spices. I thought it was quite rich and would be better as a side dish rather than the main event. Made more than 4 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-58 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States