Sweet Potato and Carrot Soup with Cardamom Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
pretty good. i also would decrease the cardamom a bit, otherwise great flavor and spice. i did add a bit more broth at the end, as it was pretty thick. Served it with grilled cheese the first night, and over brown rice for lunch the next day. flavors really developed overnight, and it made great leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
I like the taste of cardamom a lot, but I think it overpowers the rest of the flavours in this soup. The red pepper flakes add a very nice tingle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
This is wonderful! I used chicken stock for the water, but other than that I followed the recipe to a T. Any ideas on what other dishes would go well with this soup?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I served this as a first course to a fancy dinner party. Everyone loved it. I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of added more water/broth to improve the consistency. Since I used cayenne, I served yogurt with fresh dill on the side. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Making just a few changes to accommodate the vegetarian in my house and to tweak to our taste, this soup was easy to make and had a very nice balance of flavors. Changes: I used low sodium vegetable broth instead of chicken broth, increased cinnamon from 1/4 tsp to 1/2 tsp, added ~ 1/2 tsp each salt & fresh ground pepper, and added ~ 2 tsp sugar. Easy and tasty, but makes WAY more than 4 servings. It also does make a thicker soup, but the thickness fit the richness of the spices. The warm flavor was great for a chilly night and was soothing for the cold I had when I made it. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
In place of cinnamon and cardamon I used 3 tsp. garam masala which is a spice mix containing coriander cinnamon, cardamon, cumin, and black pepper. I also had to add a great deal of water to get a nice consistency and after eating a bowl I thought the flavors could be enhanced more with butter, salt wasn't enough. Sorry if you're watching your diet. With those adjustments I give it 4 stars. This recipe is a nice start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Delicious! I did not have tumeric, so I put in a little Tandoori spice in addition to the other spices. I used fresh ginger, freshly ground cardamom seeds and a little black pepper. The only other change I made was to blend half of it and leave chunks for a hearty stew like consistency, and I doubled it for left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This was a really good recipe! I added a clove of garlic but I think it'd be better without it. I substituted half of the butter for olive oil, added a pinch of brown sugar, and substituted coreander since I didn't have cardamom. It's a bit spicier than I thought it would be, but a good balance. I added some crushed pita chips on top when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This was a really hearty and tasty recipe! I even used half a bag of frozen carrots to save time and didn't notice a difference in flavor. Also added four cups of stock instead of the water and skipped the red pepper flakes, so my version probably had a little more salt and a little less kick --- but it was still plenty spicy. Served it with plain yogurt to ease the burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gail A. Guild
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Loved it, with minor adjustment. I also needed to add about 2 more cups of stock (veg was nice) to keep it from resembling baby food. Tried leftovers the next day adding a little coconut milk. Not bad, but I like it without better. Delicious, try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail A. Guild

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States