Sweet Potato and Carrot Soup with Cardamom Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I've never cooked with a lot of the listed spices so I'll admit that I'm not entirely sure what it is supposed to taste like, but I find this to be a pretty bland tasting soup considering the amount of spices used. The aroma was very misleading. I found that it had more aftertaste than anything and it was a very (almost too) spicy aftertaste for my liking. I won't be making this one again I don't think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrgperry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartland, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This soup is amazing! I added fresh ginger and garlic. The curry spices made this soup spicy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jelli

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Of course I was very liberal with the seasonings but this was delicious and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Excellent soup. Hearty, spicy (if you're a spice lover like me and increase the red pepper flakes, remember that spice is more intense in veggie soups!!) and amazing with goat cheese or sour cream. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
This soup is crazy good! I generally roast my root vegetables and then incorporate into recipe, you get awesome flavor that way. I too cut down on the cardamom and used fresh ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
First let me say I hate spicy things and anything to do with them. Next, let me say it was amazing! I tailored it for two servings [which made enough for three people in our house] added a little more of each spice, and ate mine with some homemade french bread. Oh, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
excellent flavor & thick soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Great soup with lots of flavour. I made a few changes out of necessity/preference: all homemade stock (no water) plus extra to make the soup thinner, ground cloves instead of cinnamon, no turmeric, about 1/4 tsp cumin seeds added, garlic added, and fresh ginger instead of ground. I served it over rice like a sauce and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Not bad but not thrilled. Weird because we like all the spices listed but they just didn't seem to blend well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edgerton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This soup is so delicious! I dont add the red pepper flakes and I double the amount of carrots and sweet potatos but keep the spice measurement the same. I have children and originally reduced the spice for them but I really like it this way. I normally eat very spicy food. I just think the reduction in spices to veggie ratio tastes better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States