Sweet Potato and Carrot Soup with Cardamom Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
This was great -- so tasty and sweet. If I hadn't made it myself, I would have thought a bit of sugar had been added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
This is a lovely, warming soup. It is easy and quick to make. I am not a huge cardamom fan, but put in the full amount and I did not find it overpowering. I used fresh ginger and added a clove of garlic. Because my vegetable broth was low sodium I found I needed a bit more salt to bring out the flavors. It was nicely spicy. Adjust as needed for your particular ingredients and preferences - you will be pleased with this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
This was terrific. My adult son liked it. In and of itself, that would lead me to make it again. It froze well too. I didn't make any changes. It doesn't make very much. I will read other reviews to see if anyone doubled it successfully. It might be too hard to manage pureeing it with a blender, but I use a hand held one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I made this as is and it was good, but when I changed it up a little it was better. I roasted my sweet potato and carrot chunks with salt, pepper, and cinnamon first (~20 mins on 350F) that added a lot of depth to their flavor. I also avoided the butter and used cooking spray, added minced garlic and blended with my immersion blender (sooo much easier than transferring). I also added a dollop of greek yogurt at the end to make it extra creamy. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Elizabeth
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Fantastic! I made only 2 changes - I used 1/2 the amount of cardamom and used garlic instead of onion. Loved the spicy kick. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Wanted to love this but didn't. On paper this recipe looked fantastic as I really like all of the ingredients except cardamom. I omitted the cardamom but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. The color was beautiful and the texture was perfect...the flavors just did't wow me. A dollop of plain Greek yogurt the night I made it did improve it, as did sitting overnight. Overall it wasn't bad but I will continue looking for a keeper recipe for sweet potato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This soup was delicious! Pureeing it made it smooth and the flavor was phenomenal. I left out the tumeric & red pepper flakes because I didn't have any, but this soup was still very tasty and the cayenne gave it the zing I wanted. Instead of plain yogurt, we stirred in a little half & half just before eating it, which made it nice and creamy. Very filling. My husband and I wanted to eat the entire batch, but we saved half for our lunch tomorrow - took a lot of will power to do that! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Very fragrant, very easy, and very healthy! I added a dallop of plain yogurt and it was delicious! What a wonderful soup for Fall, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tugba Emily Madaus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vernon Hills, Illinois, USA
Living In: Middleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
The easiest soup to make! And delicious. The best soup I've ever tasted. Yummy! If you like spicy, make this soup. Five stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Perfect balance of sweet and spicy. I used fresh ginger and added garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

World's Best Potato Soup

A delicious, chunky and creamy potato soup with bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States