Sweet Potato and Carrot Soup with Cardamom Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
This was terrific. My adult son liked it. In and of itself, that would lead me to make it again. It froze well too. I didn't make any changes. It doesn't make very much. I will read other reviews to see if anyone doubled it successfully. It might be too hard to manage pureeing it with a blender, but I use a hand held one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I made this as is and it was good, but when I changed it up a little it was better. I roasted my sweet potato and carrot chunks with salt, pepper, and cinnamon first (~20 mins on 350F) that added a lot of depth to their flavor. I also avoided the butter and used cooking spray, added minced garlic and blended with my immersion blender (sooo much easier than transferring). I also added a dollop of greek yogurt at the end to make it extra creamy. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Fantastic! I made only 2 changes - I used 1/2 the amount of cardamom and used garlic instead of onion. Loved the spicy kick. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Wanted to love this but didn't. On paper this recipe looked fantastic as I really like all of the ingredients except cardamom. I omitted the cardamom but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. The color was beautiful and the texture was perfect...the flavors just did't wow me. A dollop of plain Greek yogurt the night I made it did improve it, as did sitting overnight. Overall it wasn't bad but I will continue looking for a keeper recipe for sweet potato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This soup was delicious! Pureeing it made it smooth and the flavor was phenomenal. I left out the tumeric & red pepper flakes because I didn't have any, but this soup was still very tasty and the cayenne gave it the zing I wanted. Instead of plain yogurt, we stirred in a little half & half just before eating it, which made it nice and creamy. Very filling. My husband and I wanted to eat the entire batch, but we saved half for our lunch tomorrow - took a lot of will power to do that! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Very fragrant, very easy, and very healthy! I added a dallop of plain yogurt and it was delicious! What a wonderful soup for Fall, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tugba Emily Madaus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vernon Hills, Illinois, USA
Living In: Middleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
The easiest soup to make! And delicious. The best soup I've ever tasted. Yummy! If you like spicy, make this soup. Five stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Perfect balance of sweet and spicy. I used fresh ginger and added garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Great flavor :) my pinch of cayenne was a little to much,so I added heavy whipping cream. The soup turned out great.Would make again with the heavy whipping cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I've never cooked with a lot of the listed spices so I'll admit that I'm not entirely sure what it is supposed to taste like, but I find this to be a pretty bland tasting soup considering the amount of spices used. The aroma was very misleading. I found that it had more aftertaste than anything and it was a very (almost too) spicy aftertaste for my liking. I won't be making this one again I don't think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrgperry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartland, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States