Sweet Potato and Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I love sweet potatoes and had to try this recipe. I'm glad to report that it did not disappoint! I made mine in my crockpot on low for 5-6 hours. I sauteed the onions and aromatics as directed in step 4 and added to the crockpot along with the ingredients in step 5, and the black beans in step 6. I roasted the sweet potatoes while the chili was cooking and added them to the crockpot at the end to heat through. I didn't reduce the water in the recipe, and the amount of liquid at the end of the cook time was just right. To add more body to the chili, I smashed some of the beans up right in the crockpot to fill it out some. Sometimes when making chili if I remember, I reserve a 1/2 cup or so of the rinsed beans to smash and add when the chili is about done. I usually forget though and just smash in the pot. I served this with a pan of cornbread and topped the chili with fresh cilantro and a little shredded cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Photo by rachcgia
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Yummy. Followed all directions with the exception of the jalapenos because I'm a wimp. It was really filling and tasted great. Love the chipotle flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachcgia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pomona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I made this for a Vegetarian/Vegan Potluck, and It was a great hit. Now I made this cause I wanted to make something different for the potluck. I generally don't like sweet potatoes, but I loved this and so did everyone else. It has a nice kick to it from the spices, and the sweet potatoes give the chili a really nice body. I will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
I have used this recipe twice, and it comes out perfect every time. It is my all time favorite chili recipe now. It is spicy, but not too hot. It is also very rich with just a hint of sweetness. The second time I cooked it, the only thing I changed was that instead of putting a teaspoon of sugar in the chili, I put about a tablespoon of sugar on the sweet potatoes before I roasted them. This helped them brown and caramelize a little more. It came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This turned out to be amazingly good. I used Trader Joe's low sodium Garden Patch vegetable juice in place of some of the water. I did not add any salt nor did I add any sugar and skipped the cornmeal. I used a dash of cayenne pepper instead of any ancho chili powder because I did not have any ancho chili powder. All of my dinner guests also loved this dish. Thank you Chef John for the recipe and the very helpful video.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly, paying no attention to those who said it was too hot because I love hot and spicy food! I loved the layers of tastes and textures, but it IS too hot...a bit overpoweringly. I would make this again, but I would stipulate using a *small* jalapeno pepper, and perhaps taking out the seeds. Thanks for a vegetarian chili that really packs a punch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I made this the other day and it was FANTASTIC!! I had to make it friendly for a 3 and 5 yr old so I omitted all of the pepper, except for the red one, added a cup of frozen corn and some Mrs. Dash and it was still great! Everyone liked it and said they'd eat it again. I made scratch cornbread with the cornmeal I used in it and that was a hit too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I followed the recipe to a 't' and also made some rice to go along with it. While the dish tasted fine, and I had enough for leftovers I won't make again. The level of effort (chopping) and all of the ingredients I had to source left me wanting more. If you have all the ingredients on hand - try it, but I wouldn't make a special trip to the store just to pick up the ingredients for this dish. Sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chocokide

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
What a difference roasting the sweet potatoes makes in the flavor of the chili. I have made sweet potato chili before but the flavor of the sweet potatoes can get lost in the simmering. I also roasted the red peppers along with the sweet potato, but still added them in with the tomatoes as suggested. We enjoyed this chili, but next time I think I'll reduce the chili powder and cumin a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Loved, loved, loved this flavorful chili. Didn't add chipotle, discarded the jalepeno seeds and used regular chili powder - other than that, made as directed. Only gave 4 stars because too spicy if you don't tone it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cloud9

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States