Sweet Potato and Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Yet another great recipe from Chef John! I am a confirmed carnivore, but this vegetarian, vegan even, I think, recipe was fantastic. I didn't have a jalapeno, so added a bit more chipotle pepper. I had too much sweet potato, but cooked it all up as the recipe suggested and ate the extras straight up -- a great spicy sweet potato fry. Thanks Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Wow, I made this recipe and the kitchen just smelled wonderful. The guys all looked at it questioningly, not so sure about the sweet potatoes, but they liked it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monrovia, California, USA
Living In: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Made this (tripled)for a school potluck, without the cayenne, and with only 2 jalapeños, just in case it might be too hot for some. Added the tomatoes, water, beans, and roasted sweet potatoes all at once and finished it in the slow cooker for an hour. Came out great, and all got eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
i see kernel of corn in the picture, but not in the recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I made this the other day and it was FANTASTIC!! I had to make it friendly for a 3 and 5 yr old so I omitted all of the pepper, except for the red one, added a cup of frozen corn and some Mrs. Dash and it was still great! Everyone liked it and said they'd eat it again. I made scratch cornbread with the cornmeal I used in it and that was a hit too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I did make this recipe only used butternut squash instead of sweet potatoes because that was what I had. Fixed the squash like the potatoes only used smoked paprika. Didn't have jalapenos so used 1/2 can of chilpotle peppers in adobo sauce 7.5 oz chopped up. We loved it and our daughter loved it and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
What a difference roasting the sweet potatoes makes in the flavor of the chili. I have made sweet potato chili before but the flavor of the sweet potatoes can get lost in the simmering. I also roasted the red peppers along with the sweet potato, but still added them in with the tomatoes as suggested. We enjoyed this chili, but next time I think I'll reduce the chili powder and cumin a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
WOW! This came out really good! The grocery store was out of jalapenos, so I used a hot green pepper instead. I also put in only a teensy bit of cayenne pepper, so overall this came out very mild. I like a little spice, so will use a jalapeno and a little more cayenne next time. I have to say, this is restaurant quality soup - I would buy this out to eat, and yet it was relatively easy to make right at home. So happy with this and am sure will make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I used this recipe to cook chili for the first time and love it. I made it for a chili cook-off at my office and won first place!! (in the veggie chili contest) Highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I love sweet potatoes and had to try this recipe. I'm glad to report that it did not disappoint! I made mine in my crockpot on low for 5-6 hours. I sauteed the onions and aromatics as directed in step 4 and added to the crockpot along with the ingredients in step 5, and the black beans in step 6. I roasted the sweet potatoes while the chili was cooking and added them to the crockpot at the end to heat through. I didn't reduce the water in the recipe, and the amount of liquid at the end of the cook time was just right. To add more body to the chili, I smashed some of the beans up right in the crockpot to fill it out some. Sometimes when making chili if I remember, I reserve a 1/2 cup or so of the rinsed beans to smash and add when the chili is about done. I usually forget though and just smash in the pot. I served this with a pan of cornbread and topped the chili with fresh cilantro and a little shredded cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States