Sweet Potato and Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Very good. Robust flavor. I modified the peppery spices a bit and used chili style diced tomatoes. i have never used cornmeal as a thickener before, but I like it and I would certainly try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I served this at a dinner this fall and everyone loved it. I didnot use chipotle, as some don't really care for it. So I just used reg chilli powder. The fresh cilantro makes it taste so fresh!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I adjusted this recipe for 6 servings. It was a hit with my husband and 3 adult kids that dropped in to visit. I loved the roasted sweet potatoes and it was so worth that step. I followed the recipe exactly as written except I did not have cornmeal and omitted it entirely. I added a 3rd can of beans (pinto) which gave the chili more variety, and also added 1 Tablespoon of chili powder. I also cut up 4 boneless chicken breasts, sautéed them in olive oil, salt and pepper, then followed the recipe with the onions, etc. I will make this version again. Thanks for all the comments and a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I am very calorie conscious so I took left out the sour cream and substituted Splenda for the sugar. Also left out the cornmeal and used fresh tomatos instead of canned. Thanks to the reviewers that reduced and or omitted the peppers. I decided to follow their advice and left out the spicy peppers. Excellent still with all the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charles Payne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This is one of the most beautiful and delicious soups I have ever tried! We didn't have ancho chili powder but we did have poblano peppers. We sauteed the diced poblano pepper and didn't miss the powder at all. Otherwise I followed this recipe exactly and it was amazing! The only problem we had was that the roasted sweet potatoes with chipotle chili powder were so yummy, that many of them didn't make it into the soup! They are a wonderful snack or side dish on their own! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Oh my goodness, this is such a delicious meal. If I could I would give it 6 stars. The only thing I did different, I bought the beans and soaked them overnight. beside that I followed the directions of recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sossepos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ladysmith, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Wonderful! Rather than roast the potatoes, I just cubed them and partially cooked them and let them finish cooking in the soup. I also substituted chicken broth for the water to give it a little more flavor. Super on a chilly night!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I loved it. I took the seeds out of the jalapeno pepper to ease it up a little bit other than that it was a delicious find, and not hard to make. I will be using this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I have lost weight lately and am always looking for a good healthy recipe that includes vegetables and uses all whole foods. However this had way too many spices and hot peppers for me. I only used the cayenne but I added diced cooked Italian sausage to still give it a spicier kick. The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa77
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Very, very good and different too. I followed the recipe but added two extra ingredients. A can of corn and some chicken. I roasted the sweet potatoes (and precooked the chicken) like in the recipe but did everything else in the crockpot. My husband loved it. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States