Sweet Potato and Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
This is a good meatless recipe. I substituted a jalapeno pepper and Mexican chili powder and also use a can of mild Rotel tomatoes. It definitely has a bite, but is really good. My girlfriend doesn't eat meat, so I gave her some and she loved it too. You do need to add extra water also. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Fugate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oxford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Very tasty. Used half sweet potato and half butternut squash because it's what I had. The texture of the sweet potato was much better. Next time I'll try doubling the cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Oh Vishnu! Oh Kali! Oh Klahoma! This recipe is really really good. I followed 87% of the recipe because I love to improvise. No need for the corn meal if you slow cooker it. I added 3 dashes of cinnamon and subtracted 1/3 of the fresh jalapeño. I would cut that down to 1/2 because it was borderline "Geez, this is frigging hot!" I also substituted canned chipotle for the fresh stuff, but it worked just as well. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefBoyOhBoy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I enjoy all your recipes Chef John. I put chocolate & a bottle of beer in all my chilis. I love the combination of sweet potatoes & the black beans. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marie knopp
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Very good. Robust flavor. I modified the peppery spices a bit and used chili style diced tomatoes. i have never used cornmeal as a thickener before, but I like it and I would certainly try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I served this at a dinner this fall and everyone loved it. I didnot use chipotle, as some don't really care for it. So I just used reg chilli powder. The fresh cilantro makes it taste so fresh!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I adjusted this recipe for 6 servings. It was a hit with my husband and 3 adult kids that dropped in to visit. I loved the roasted sweet potatoes and it was so worth that step. I followed the recipe exactly as written except I did not have cornmeal and omitted it entirely. I added a 3rd can of beans (pinto) which gave the chili more variety, and also added 1 Tablespoon of chili powder. I also cut up 4 boneless chicken breasts, sautéed them in olive oil, salt and pepper, then followed the recipe with the onions, etc. I will make this version again. Thanks for all the comments and a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I am very calorie conscious so I took left out the sour cream and substituted Splenda for the sugar. Also left out the cornmeal and used fresh tomatos instead of canned. Thanks to the reviewers that reduced and or omitted the peppers. I decided to follow their advice and left out the spicy peppers. Excellent still with all the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charles Payne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This is one of the most beautiful and delicious soups I have ever tried! We didn't have ancho chili powder but we did have poblano peppers. We sauteed the diced poblano pepper and didn't miss the powder at all. Otherwise I followed this recipe exactly and it was amazing! The only problem we had was that the roasted sweet potatoes with chipotle chili powder were so yummy, that many of them didn't make it into the soup! They are a wonderful snack or side dish on their own! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States