Sweet Potato and Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This recipe was great! The sweet potatoes and chipotle seasoning really added some fantastic flavors. I added a green bell pepper in addition to the red one, and used honey instead of sugar -- other than that I followed the recipe as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Like this one a lot I read other reviews but unless my chiles were a little lacking... i found heat levels were fine, in fact I over coated the sweet potatos before roasting, ooops
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Bradfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
My husband is a chef and he thinks this is great chili. Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
This is great stuff. I did the sweet potatoes like he said, but I put everything else but the black beans in a crock pot and let it cook for several hours. I then added the sweet potatoes and black beans about 30 minutes prior to serving. It is VERY spicy (I like it that way!), so you may want to go easy on the chipotle and/or seed the jalapeno. We'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I love love love this! This is such a hearty, rich-in-flavor dish. This chili can't be labeled bland. Its just wonderful. The sweet potatoes make the chili complete, and the sour cream and cilantro just take it to another level. So delighted I tried this recipe. It's now going into the winter meal rotation! I wish I had doubled the recipe, so we'd have leftovers. I didn't have ancho chile powder, and added ground beef to make it a Husband approved meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
OMG. This is the best chili recipe I've ever made. Even the kids liked it. I cut out the jalapeno and cut the chile powder if half to suit them and it was just the right amount of heat. I added a pound of ground buffalo, browned with the onions and garlic, then threw it all into the crock pot. Added the sweet potatoes near the end. Really wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I got compliments from everyone on this chili! I did add some shredded seasoned chicken that I had cooked in the crock pot. Also removed the seeds from the jalapeno pepper to make less hot but used spicy black beans from Whole Foods. Absolutely delicious and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RealtorDeb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
This is a good meatless recipe. I substituted a jalapeno pepper and Mexican chili powder and also use a can of mild Rotel tomatoes. It definitely has a bite, but is really good. My girlfriend doesn't eat meat, so I gave her some and she loved it too. You do need to add extra water also. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Fugate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oxford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Very tasty. Used half sweet potato and half butternut squash because it's what I had. The texture of the sweet potato was much better. Next time I'll try doubling the cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Oh Vishnu! Oh Kali! Oh Klahoma! This recipe is really really good. I followed 87% of the recipe because I love to improvise. No need for the corn meal if you slow cooker it. I added 3 dashes of cinnamon and subtracted 1/3 of the fresh jalapeño. I would cut that down to 1/2 because it was borderline "Geez, this is frigging hot!" I also substituted canned chipotle for the fresh stuff, but it worked just as well. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefBoyOhBoy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States