Sweet Potato and Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This is so good! I was a little scared by some of the reviews that said this was too spicy, so I toned it down by using two tablespoons of regular chili powder instead of ancho chili powder. I added a tsp. of ancho chili powder. I used a Serrano pepper in place of the Jalapeno and removed some of the seeds. Also, I didn't have any dried chipotle pepper, so I used Mrs. Dash Southwest chipotle seasoning instead. Regardless of the changes I made, it was one of the best chilis we've ever eaten! If you want to add meat, I'm sure chorizo would be a perfect addition--I'll probably try that next time. While this recipe is time-consuming, it is well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
And my husband loved it to. Made this both organic and gluten free and my husband didn't even miss the meat. We both agree it was delicious and filling. Taste better and spicier after a day of sitting in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Delicious and very easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Everyone loved it and asked me for the recipe. The recipe is best served the next day when the ingredients merge. I didn't have chipolte peppers and jalapeno so I substituted 1 crushed dried red hot pepper and 1 dried jalapeno I grew in my garden last summer (removed seeds), a shake of pizza peppers and half a thinly sliced fresh poblano pepper. It was splendid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I was looking at the nutritional values of this and it seems quite high. 600 calories per serving? Does that come from the potatoes or the beans. There doesnt seem to be much else that would account for it. I would love to try this but being on Weight Watchers and computing points of 12 I am hesitant. What is the serving size?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pauline Sharp Eberlein

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
4.5 stars. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I already reviewed this recipe, but just had to add something: I was asked to make this dish twice in the SAME week! You KNOW it's good when it gets requested twice in the same week, especially in my house. Chef John, you scored a winner with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I loved this dish! I made it for a dinner party and it was a hit! Sad to say I had no leftovers; I'll have to make it again soon. Sauteed ingredients in step 4 then added to all from step 5, cooking in the crockpot on high for four hours. Right before serving I added roasted sweet potatoes. I also did what reviewer Spyce recommended and reserved 1/2 cup of rinsed black beans which I mashed and added at the end with the potatoes. Great taste and full texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This was delicious and easy to make...GREAT vegetarian dish (we're not vegetarians).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I loved this recipe, however my husband didn't care for it. I'll make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States