Sweet Potato and Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Great googly moogly this is delicious! The only changes I made were done so because I didn't have something on hand. I used a yellow bell pepper and 1 can black beans plus 1 can chickpeas. The rest was all the same. I was thinking about forgoing the "special" spices (chipotle and ancho) but boy am I glad I didn't! Wonderful smoky flavor they added. I don't even like cilantro much but it adds something in the end. And it wasn't too spicy for me at all. If anything next time I'll add another jalapeño.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
We LOVED it - although I only used half of the chili powder, it was just right hot-wise for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsburg, Iowa, USA
Living In: Marion, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
very good - added corn and noodles plus hot sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little River, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I love sweet potatoes and black beans and I really enjoyed a chimichanga that had those ingredients so I expected to like this recipe. I really disliked the flavor. I will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
As a note of encouragement to those who don't have cumin or ancho chili powder on hand - you don't need it. I used red pepper flakes, chili powder, and a New Orleans Cajun seasoning in leu of those two items, and then used Cayenne as directed. I also did not have a jalapeno, cornmeal, or a red bell pepper. I exchanged half of the diced tomato amount with a can of rotel, exchanged the cornmeal for flour, and the red bell pepper for a green bell pepper. So the moral of the story is, this recipe is awesome even if you have to improvise half of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
This is great. I doubled recipe but only had one 28oz can of diced tomatoes so added a 14 oz can of stewed tomatoes I had on hand. I used only one cup of water. That was the only change. Fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I made this for the first time and I have to say I was not disappointed. I used grape seed oil instead of olive (i prefer the flavor of it) and served it with some cornbread. It was a huge hit with my friend who is a picky eater. I can't wait to eat it for leftovers after it has sat for a day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
This chili is excellent! It has a great flavor from the chipotle and is very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Loved it! Deff worth a try if you like sweet potatoes! And it was pretty simple to make, a little time consuming, but simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I loved this recipe! I made It today for a girls lunch and it was a hit. One of the girls doesn't care for sweet potatoes but loved them in this dish! I omitted the jalapeños but followed everything else as written. The flavor was complex and satisfying. Interesting choice of ingredients, but they all somehow worked so well together. Thank you for this delicious spin on chili and as other reviewers stated, you don't even miss the meat! I served it with sweet cornbread muffins. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States