Sweet Potato and Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I have made this twice, and it is wonderful! The sweet potatoes add so much to the dish. Now I can't imagine eating any other type of chile. I added about 3/4 lbs ground turkey to the dish, which I enjoy. I like the spicyness of the dish--it is not overpowering at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
great taste. easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
It was so delicious and pretty easy to make. I've made it twice. First time I followed the recipe exactly, and it was good. But what made it better the second time around is cutting the sweet potatoes into bite-sized cubes and adding just a little bit of bbq sauce for added sweetness and smokiness. Can't recommend it enough. Even my meat-loving husband enjoys this chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Excellent. I did some substitutions based on what was in my fridge, and it was still excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
This chili is amazing! Turned out perfectly. Love the combo of chipotle and cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
This chili was GREAT!!!! I had to make it twice in just a period of 7 days. Made it for my husband and I and we just loved it. My daughter was coming home for Christmas and since she is vegan I have to always think of something extra good for her to eat. I made this chili and she absolutely loved it and took the recipe with her. Then my daughter in law came for a visit, tried some and also wanted the recipe, thank you so much for this delicious chili recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I only scrubbed the sweet potatoes then cubed them with the skins on..... And I tossed them with olive oil, cinnamon, garlic powder & salt before roasting. Oh my! The flavors really penetrated the whole dish (and the house!)This is one of the best chili renditions. For you meat lovers add sauteed mild Italian sausage....YUM! Jogee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
This was great, my husband say this is the only chili recipe from now on. I did not have jalapeno pepper and used the chili powder I had handy and still had lots of zip to it. Seems everything I have tried from Chef John is excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
This was incredible! I added chicken, just because but it would be fine without it. After my husband and I ate it I roasted some more sweet potatoes and added a little more of everything. I then had him bring it to the office the next day. I asked how everyone liked it. Comments were: "the best chili I ever had", "great, minus the sweet potatoes", and one didn't waste any time and went straight to my Pinterest page to get the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
This is really good chili. I added one link of chorizo and doubled the cocoa powder. It had plenty of flavor on its own and didn't need salt. Oh and the sweet potatoes were great on there own, they almost didn't make it into the chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States