Sweet Potato and Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
This was very good tasting & healthy too, also economical. Even my vegetarian sister & brother in law could eat this. I made this exactly as written except I deliberately I cut down on the amount of heat by using the 1/2 t. ground dried chipotle pepper & only 1/2 of a fresh jalapeno pepper instead of a whole jalapeno. The heat from those two was plenty for us. I omitted the Ancho chili & cayenne. This had a really nice flavor especially when topped with the fresh cilantro & a dollop of sour cream.This also looks nice in the bowls with the black,red, orange, green and white colors. I'll be making this again from time to time. Thanks for a good recipe Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YummyTummy
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly. I had to search to find the ancho chile powder, but it was SO worth it. Spectacular recipe! The roasted sweet potato is an amazing complement to the various peppers (ancho, chipotle and jalapeno). I did not find this too spicy at all (of course, I do quite a bit of Indian cooking so I may be a bit immune to the "fire") and have recommended this recipe to many people. It freezes well, too, which is great for me since I live alone. I may add frozen kernel corn to the next batch. I'm making a point of searching out other recipes from Chef John. Love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Xavier13
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Super, very easy to make and everyone loved the texture and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Made this recipe for 30 people and it was a hit as many asked for seconds and for the recipe! Always looking for a good recipe to feed a crowd, and this is a great one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
really a full meal! So delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I made this following the recipe to the letter and it came out absolutely perfectly. The sweet potatoes add such a richness, and it has perfect amount of kick from the jalapenos without the spiciness overwhelming the other flavors. It was also quite filling. Looking forward to making this one of our staple winter dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
This recipe is superb! Used a mixture of orange & purple skinned (yellow inside) sweet potatoes called kumara in New Zealand where I'm from. Used two cans of Delmaine Black Beans in Chilli Sauce plus two cans of diced tomatoes so only added 1 tsp chilli flakes & third of a sachet of taco seasoning. Cut the cumin down to 1 heaped tsp. Other ingredients the same but different brands. What a beautiful, velvety chilli! The prep is worth it but have made it ahead of time to get all the flavours when friends arrive tomorrow night. Will serve with steamed rice & salad. Omitted the sugar & water. Thankyou Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This is a awesome recipe! I had trouble finding ancho chili powder so I used a chili powder I found in the Mexican food isle. I will defiantly make again!!! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Great recipe for three favorite foods--goes from 4 to 5 star with meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This recipe is excellent, and for the meat lovers (like myself) I added a cooked rotisserie chicken towrds the end and let it simmer. YUM!!! :) P.S. You might want to roast extra sweet potatoes, I couldn't stop eating them when they came out of the oven!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States