Sweet Potato and Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I loved this recipe, however my husband didn't care for it. I'll make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I made this recipe while following the video, and did not realize the amount of chipotle pepper was as little as the recipe called for, so my chili turned out a little hotter than it was supposed to, I'm sure... but not a problem, as instead of just using the sour cream for garnish, I actually added about 1/4 cup to the chili to help tame the heat, and it turned out really creamy and delish - I will do this addition again when I make it, even though I will now go easier on the pepper.... other than that, it was a really hearty and delicious dish. I served this with the 'Mexican Corn Bread' recipe found on this site.... and it was a fantastic combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingsville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
First off, the baked sweet potatoes are a treat on their own. That being said, based on other comments about this being too hot, I modified a few things. First, I removed the seeds from the jalapeño pepper and chopped it up a bit more. I also omitted the red pepper. Even though I like them, they don't like me. :-). I used regular chile powder and I didn't add the extra pinch of cayenne pepper. It was fabulous. Best part of it was that my husband loved it. I never thought I would ever get him to eat a meatless dish. He said he would like to make this at the Fire Station but that he would add ground turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I entered this chili in the vegetarian category at my company's annual chili cook-off and it won! It even came in second place overall, only losing to a more conventional meat chili. The only thing I added was a cup or so of frozen corn for a little more texture and color. I love this chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Oh my gosh! This chili is the bomb! I made it for dinner tonight and my family was going nuts. They loved it! I adjusted only a couple of things; I added only one tablespoon of ancho chili powder instead of two and I minced my jalapeño rather than slicing it. Also, I did not add cayenne pepper. Even with these changes (or omissions) the chili still had a "kick" to it....it was the perfect spicy-ness. Even my 13- and 9-year-old boys loved it! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This has been a wonderful, flexible, much-shared recipe! For the corn-free crowd, I left out the corn meal. It's already good for the dairy-free and veggie. I've swapped in butternut squash for some sweet potatoes when i ran short and it was still wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Tastes great. Needs way more liquid than called for though. Will make it again and again. Just the thing needed when the weather is -30 with the wind chill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This is awesome!! I used 3 canned chipotle peppers and about a Tablespoon of the adobo sauce in place of the jalapeno and the ancho chile powder, because I had that on hand and also because I prefer the smokey flavor of the chipotle pepper. Also followed the other reviewers and left out the white sugar. It was delicious! I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I have made this twice, and it is wonderful! The sweet potatoes add so much to the dish. Now I can't imagine eating any other type of chile. I added about 3/4 lbs ground turkey to the dish, which I enjoy. I like the spicyness of the dish--it is not overpowering at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
great taste. easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States