Sweet Potato and Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Very yummy healthy alternative. My "meat loving" hubby didn't even realize there was no meat in it (crazy, I know). A winner in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tvan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
YUM! So healthy. Served it with corn muffins...perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
This recipe was 4 stars as written (omitting the jalapeño and decreasing chili powder). It definitely would need more liquid to be chili/soup like. What I did that made it delicious? Added a little leftover corn, then put it in a greased 13x9. I mixed up a batch of my regular CORNBREAD (buttermilk cornbread on this site), and used a little less sugar and a handful of shredded cheese. Spread the cornbread mix on top, and bake at. 375 for 20-25 min until golden. Add a dollop of sour cream and it is absolutely divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Sooooooo goooooood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I used the recommended amount of ancho chile powder and jalapeno (seeded). I love hot/spicy food but this was RIDICULOUSLY HOT! I can't even judge the taste because of the heat. I might try this again without so much spice. Good lord this is hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I just made this over the weekend and had it for the first time last night for dinner. This is the BEST chili (without meat)!!! Of course, I had to make a couple of adjustments because I didn't have some ingredients - I didn't have any ground chipotle pepper, so I used one Knorr chipotle mini cube to season the sweet potato before roasting and I didn't have any ancho chili powder, so I used cayenne pepper, but cut the amount to only 2 teaspoons instead of tablespoons. It was AMAZING!!! It had just the right amount of heat for me. I like my chili thick, so I didn't bother adding more water at the end. Oh, since I am a fan of garlic, I used about 2 tablespoons of chopped garlic. I also used 2 jalapeno peppers for added heat. Absolutely, without a doubt, this is my favorite recipe to date!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I couldn't believe how delicious this was. I wish I could give it ten stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary p. furlong

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Verdun, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I made this recipe with some minor changes (left out the jalapeno and used red pepper flakes instead of cayenne), and it was much better than I expected. I have never made a meatless chili before, but I found this vegetarian chili very satisfying. The cocoa powder makes the broth rich in flavor and dark in color. Also, roasting the sweet potatoes ahead of time is definitely worth the extra step. I can see this recipe making its way into my regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marney
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Great vegetarian main dish that I'll definitely add into our rotation. I followed the recipe, then added one zucchini because I had it and served it with cornbread muffins. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
this was excellent and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States