Sweet Potato and Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
We have made this over & over. Amazing. The only chnage we made it that we use the southwest black beans that already have the jalapenos inside the can. This adds a bit of heat that we love. It truly does eat like a meat dish. Meat-eaters won't miss the meat, I promise. So many flavors & so good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Delicious. I also used some tortilla chip. Tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Excellent taste. A good main dish and also side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Very nice alternative to traditional chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Wow. Just awesome. I didn't have a fresh bell pepper on hand so used some frozen tri-color bell peppers, added them in at the end with the beans and potatoes. Used a whole tsp oregano too, I love the stuff. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly. The texture was spot on, that step of roasting the sweet potatoes really makes a difference. I've never had ancho chili powder that was very hot so I used the recipe amount. The finished dish was not that hot to me. At first I was taken aback by the large caloric number here, until I realized this recipe thinks it's 4 servings. I'll get at least 6 servings out of this, it makes a pretty big pot. When I use my own software to determine nutrition for 6 servings I get 350 calories, 6g fat, 68g carb, 14g fiber, 12g protein. Now that makes more sense. Anyway, I love this dish and will make it often. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Very yummy healthy alternative. My "meat loving" hubby didn't even realize there was no meat in it (crazy, I know). A winner in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tvan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
YUM! So healthy. Served it with corn muffins...perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
This recipe was 4 stars as written (omitting the jalapeño and decreasing chili powder). It definitely would need more liquid to be chili/soup like. What I did that made it delicious? Added a little leftover corn, then put it in a greased 13x9. I mixed up a batch of my regular CORNBREAD (buttermilk cornbread on this site), and used a little less sugar and a handful of shredded cheese. Spread the cornbread mix on top, and bake at. 375 for 20-25 min until golden. Add a dollop of sour cream and it is absolutely divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Sooooooo goooooood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I used the recommended amount of ancho chile powder and jalapeno (seeded). I love hot/spicy food but this was RIDICULOUSLY HOT! I can't even judge the taste because of the heat. I might try this again without so much spice. Good lord this is hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States