Sweet Potato and Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
I made this this evening and it exceeded my expatiations. It did taste like chili and the family all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Warren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I've made this twice and it is our new favorite Chili. It's a lot of work to make, but it makes a lot and we have it for a few nights for dinner. I used the Jalapeno but took out the seeds. I use the Chipolte pepper as directed but I don't put in as much of the Ancho chili pepper. I also added a can of corn (drained) and that gave it a little more texture. Yes, it's a lot of cutting and chopping, but it is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This was so good. I don't normally like sweet potatoes and was looking for a way to use some up; my boyfriend couldn't believe I served him a meal without meat but even he admitted it was "decent." I didn't have ancho chile powder so left it out, I added more cayenne because it did need a bit more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by warrior
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I love this recipe. I am pescatarian. I love love love spicy food and this was flavorful and hearty. This will become one of my fall/winter go to recipe. I omitted the sourcream garnish. I'm detoxing so I can't have it. Thank you for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by warrior

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Everyone loved this! I cut the ancho chili powder in half and used small jalapeno and diced (without seeds, of course) instead of slicing.. Also used one square of unsweetened chocolate bar instead of cocoa powder. Just the right enough spice for all. The texture was fabulous too. The cost outlay was high due to special seasonings i did not have, but i figure it will cost about $15 the next time i make it! One of the reviews said there was too much slicing and dicing, but for me, that's the great part about preparing a meal! Next time i think i will double the recipe so i will have plenty leftover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
This is very good, but even with eliminating some of the spicy seasonings (jalepeno and hot pepper), it was still pretty spicy for me. I will make it again but tone it down even more. Adding the sour cream is a must to finish out the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
This was very good tasting & healthy too, also economical. Even my vegetarian sister & brother in law could eat this. I made this exactly as written except I deliberately I cut down on the amount of heat by using the 1/2 t. ground dried chipotle pepper & only 1/2 of a fresh jalapeno pepper instead of a whole jalapeno. The heat from those two was plenty for us. I omitted the Ancho chili & cayenne. This had a really nice flavor especially when topped with the fresh cilantro & a dollop of sour cream.This also looks nice in the bowls with the black,red, orange, green and white colors. I'll be making this again from time to time. Thanks for a good recipe Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YummyTummy
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly. I had to search to find the ancho chile powder, but it was SO worth it. Spectacular recipe! The roasted sweet potato is an amazing complement to the various peppers (ancho, chipotle and jalapeno). I did not find this too spicy at all (of course, I do quite a bit of Indian cooking so I may be a bit immune to the "fire") and have recommended this recipe to many people. It freezes well, too, which is great for me since I live alone. I may add frozen kernel corn to the next batch. I'm making a point of searching out other recipes from Chef John. Love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Xavier13
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Super, very easy to make and everyone loved the texture and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Made this recipe for 30 people and it was a hit as many asked for seconds and for the recipe! Always looking for a good recipe to feed a crowd, and this is a great one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States