Sweet Potato and Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This recipe is excellent, and for the meat lovers (like myself) I added a cooked rotisserie chicken towrds the end and let it simmer. YUM!!! :) P.S. You might want to roast extra sweet potatoes, I couldn't stop eating them when they came out of the oven!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Yum.yum.yum. Deeelicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
This is an awesome recipe! Since I didn't have chipotle or ancho chili powders, I just used my regular Kroger chili powder and a dash of red pepper. I also added a can of drained corn. Simply scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Judd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Truly wonderful!!!Made without jalapenos and yogurt instead of sour cream. My 3 & 4 year old's loved it as well as my husband. Its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Burkert Wisley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Having recently turned vegan due to a heart attack i was glad to find this recipe.The roasted sweet potatoes are awesome by themselves had to force myself to stop eating them after they came out of the oven.I followed the recipe pretty much as written but i didn't add any jalapenos instead i pureed chipotle peppers in adobo sauce and add a little at a time till i think it's at the correct spiciness.Next time i may add some mushrooms or corn this is such a good base for endless modifications ; )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Carson Ausburn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
This was great!! The only thing I changed was to omit the sugar, and I seeded & chopped the jalapeno... it wasn't over spicy at all, and everyone (including my carnivore husband) loved it. Thanks for another great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Okay, so I've had this recipe several times. A couple things to note--roasting the sweet potatoes is genius and really helps keep the texture. The recipe calls for ancho chile powder. You HAVE to use ancho chile (or some other really mild pepper). Generic chili powder is too hot. I made this mistake the first time around when serving this at a dinner party and no one finished their bowls. This last time I "Africanized" and it was out of this world. It was amazing. Seriously, I have made a lot of chilis in my day, but the way I modified it would have won an award. Chili is one of those things in which you can make a good recipe, but not great. This was great. I added ginger to the garlic mixture. I reduced the ancho chili to half, added some smoked paprika and a generous pinch of cardamom. I used hickory smoked salt on the sweet potatoes and at the end when seasoning. I reduced the oregano to a pinch (probably could have omitted it from the African version). I used chicken stock instead of water and added a generous dollop of peanut butter. I also used fresh heirloom tomatoes. I have nothing against canned, but I had them on hand and needed to use them. The flavor that the tomatoes added was amazing. It made a huge difference. I used black pepper instead of cayenne, and of course seasoned at the end to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
We have made this over & over. Amazing. The only chnage we made it that we use the southwest black beans that already have the jalapenos inside the can. This adds a bit of heat that we love. It truly does eat like a meat dish. Meat-eaters won't miss the meat, I promise. So many flavors & so good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Delicious. I also used some tortilla chip. Tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Excellent taste. A good main dish and also side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States