Sweet Potato and Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Sooooooo goooooood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I used the recommended amount of ancho chile powder and jalapeno (seeded). I love hot/spicy food but this was RIDICULOUSLY HOT! I can't even judge the taste because of the heat. I might try this again without so much spice. Good lord this is hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I just made this over the weekend and had it for the first time last night for dinner. This is the BEST chili (without meat)!!! Of course, I had to make a couple of adjustments because I didn't have some ingredients - I didn't have any ground chipotle pepper, so I used one Knorr chipotle mini cube to season the sweet potato before roasting and I didn't have any ancho chili powder, so I used cayenne pepper, but cut the amount to only 2 teaspoons instead of tablespoons. It was AMAZING!!! It had just the right amount of heat for me. I like my chili thick, so I didn't bother adding more water at the end. Oh, since I am a fan of garlic, I used about 2 tablespoons of chopped garlic. I also used 2 jalapeno peppers for added heat. Absolutely, without a doubt, this is my favorite recipe to date!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I couldn't believe how delicious this was. I wish I could give it ten stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary p. furlong

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Verdun, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I made this recipe with some minor changes (left out the jalapeno and used red pepper flakes instead of cayenne), and it was much better than I expected. I have never made a meatless chili before, but I found this vegetarian chili very satisfying. The cocoa powder makes the broth rich in flavor and dark in color. Also, roasting the sweet potatoes ahead of time is definitely worth the extra step. I can see this recipe making its way into my regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marney
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Great vegetarian main dish that I'll definitely add into our rotation. I followed the recipe, then added one zucchini because I had it and served it with cornbread muffins. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
this was excellent and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
We made this today and it turned out so good. Very good in fact. The favors of all the spices really added such a great taste. I was worried about the jalapenos, but they really added a great favor and was not very hot at all. I will make this again. Will not change a thing on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
This was absolutely delicious! I accidentally grabbed white sweet potatoes at the grocery and used those, and they were extra sweet and wonderful with the spicy chipotle powder. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I loved this. I roasted the pepper with the potatoes and then decided later that I wanted more potato so I diced up two more and added them with the tomatoes and both were good but I think searing the spices to the potatoes during the roasting really added to the flavor. Roasting the potatoes really improved the texture. I will roast sweet potatoes in these spices again to serve alone, they were so good (maybe that is why I needed more for the chili). I made this with the Awesome and easy creamy corn casserole and they were great. thanks for a great recipe. Ymmmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States