Sweet Potato and Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
This was great!! The only thing I changed was to omit the sugar, and I seeded & chopped the jalapeno... it wasn't over spicy at all, and everyone (including my carnivore husband) loved it. Thanks for another great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Okay, so I've had this recipe several times. A couple things to note--roasting the sweet potatoes is genius and really helps keep the texture. The recipe calls for ancho chile powder. You HAVE to use ancho chile (or some other really mild pepper). Generic chili powder is too hot. I made this mistake the first time around when serving this at a dinner party and no one finished their bowls. This last time I "Africanized" and it was out of this world. It was amazing. Seriously, I have made a lot of chilis in my day, but the way I modified it would have won an award. Chili is one of those things in which you can make a good recipe, but not great. This was great. I added ginger to the garlic mixture. I reduced the ancho chili to half, added some smoked paprika and a generous pinch of cardamom. I used hickory smoked salt on the sweet potatoes and at the end when seasoning. I reduced the oregano to a pinch (probably could have omitted it from the African version). I used chicken stock instead of water and added a generous dollop of peanut butter. I also used fresh heirloom tomatoes. I have nothing against canned, but I had them on hand and needed to use them. The flavor that the tomatoes added was amazing. It made a huge difference. I used black pepper instead of cayenne, and of course seasoned at the end to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
We have made this over & over. Amazing. The only chnage we made it that we use the southwest black beans that already have the jalapenos inside the can. This adds a bit of heat that we love. It truly does eat like a meat dish. Meat-eaters won't miss the meat, I promise. So many flavors & so good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Delicious. I also used some tortilla chip. Tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Excellent taste. A good main dish and also side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Very nice alternative to traditional chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Wow. Just awesome. I didn't have a fresh bell pepper on hand so used some frozen tri-color bell peppers, added them in at the end with the beans and potatoes. Used a whole tsp oregano too, I love the stuff. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly. The texture was spot on, that step of roasting the sweet potatoes really makes a difference. I've never had ancho chili powder that was very hot so I used the recipe amount. The finished dish was not that hot to me. At first I was taken aback by the large caloric number here, until I realized this recipe thinks it's 4 servings. I'll get at least 6 servings out of this, it makes a pretty big pot. When I use my own software to determine nutrition for 6 servings I get 350 calories, 6g fat, 68g carb, 14g fiber, 12g protein. Now that makes more sense. Anyway, I love this dish and will make it often. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Very yummy healthy alternative. My "meat loving" hubby didn't even realize there was no meat in it (crazy, I know). A winner in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tvan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
YUM! So healthy. Served it with corn muffins...perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
This recipe was 4 stars as written (omitting the jalapeño and decreasing chili powder). It definitely would need more liquid to be chili/soup like. What I did that made it delicious? Added a little leftover corn, then put it in a greased 13x9. I mixed up a batch of my regular CORNBREAD (buttermilk cornbread on this site), and used a little less sugar and a handful of shredded cheese. Spread the cornbread mix on top, and bake at. 375 for 20-25 min until golden. Add a dollop of sour cream and it is absolutely divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States