Sweet Potato and Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by audraa86
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I omitted some spiciness due to other comments, and it was AMAZING. A new staple in my house for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Have made it twice awesome. Added Chickpeas and put it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Homosassa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I have made this twice. Once for an office potluck and once for a dear friend who has turned vegan!!! It was a hit both times. Roasting the sweet potatoes not only helps keep their shape in the chili but also brings out their flavor. No, I did not follow the recipe exactly. Used a single ghost pepper the first time - SPICY!!! Added lime juice just before serving. Skipped the sour cream. For my friend, just used a smaller amount of chili powder. Used one red and one yellow bell pepper and skipped the sugar and cocoa powder. Terrific Recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Preeti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by darlasue
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
This is delicious! Chef John's recipes are always wonderful. I did add some lean hamburger for my son-in-law, about 1 cup more water with a TB of beef bouillon and a healthy handful of frozen corn. I also used Penzeys Chili 3000 in place of the spices. It is perfect for a chilly n breezy January night! Thank you for sharing the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darlasue
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Very good if you leave out all the pepper and salt. It is still very flavorful. I chopped about 1/2 cup of cilantro and added it in at the end. Everyone loved this dinner, kids too! The meat eaters added chopped grilled chicken breasts to their chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Loved this chili. Nice new change from traditional Chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
This was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Way too spicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Very Good! I have to make it at least once a week, my son-in-law can't get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
In step 4, spices clump and stick to bottom of pan if added as instructed. Spices should be added after vegetables are cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States