Sweet Potato and Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
I love sweet potatoes every which way. Hubby dislikes sweet potatoes most ways but loves them here! The recipe is a definite keeper based on that alone! I added/omitted/substituted some items due to what I had in stock. I omitted the red bell pepper, substituted cayenne for the ancho chile on the sweet potatoes during roasting, did not peel the sweet potatoes for added nutrition, de-seeded the sliced jalapenos (Hubby doesn't handle spicy foods well) and added meat and juices of a 7-bone roast that I cooked in a slow cooker. The recipe made closer to 6 servings than the stated 4. We will be eating this for lunch throughout the week with some cornbread, of course!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Martin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
I make this just the way the recipes calls for. I also often make just the roasted sweet potatoes to use as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Con C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Norway, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
As usual, chef John's recipe is right on! I did make one change... Instead of water, I used tomato juice. Just my personal preference. Thanx Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
Very good with lots of flavor. I did saute crumbled Italian sausage in it too and added some cheddar cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
So Good. I used regular chili powder and it is amazing. Everyone wants the recipe that tastes it. The only thing is I found that roasting the sweet potatoes takes MUCH longer. Put aside an extra hour just to be sure. Simply Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
My dad had shingles and eating sweet potatoes was supposed to help him so I made this wonderful dish. Very tasty and colorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Steinberg
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
This was a great alternative to regular chili! It was pretty spicy though so I substituted the ancho chile powder for regular chili powder and left out the jalapeno pepper. Also 2 pounds of sweet potatoes were too many, 1-1.5 would have been plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
The long list of yummy sounding ingredients and the additional techniques really had me excited about the layers of flavor I was sure this chili would provide. While pretty good it certainly did not deliver the depth or layers of flavor to justify all the extra ingredients or extra techniques.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
This was outstanding! I halved the recipe in general but was heavy on the spices. I also added a touch of cinnamon. The sweet potatoes didn't come through as I expected but I'm sure it was bec I gave more bite on spices. My husband says it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
I LOVE this chili! I've made it at least once a month for the past couple years and everyone who tries it loves it, too, even people who religiously eat meat chili. My boyfriend was hesitant about it and didn't think it'd be filling. I usually increase all the seasonings a little bit and add some frozen corn at the same time as the beans and potatoes and serve it with a piece of cornbread in the bottom of the bowl, the sweetness of the cornbread compliments it soooo well. This is definitely a keeper, and it's pretty cheap to make as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hugadandylion

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States