Sweet Potato and Banana Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I've never used a sweet potato in a smoothie before, but we all thought this was crazy good. I microwaved the sweet potato, peeled it, and then put in the freezer along with a banana for about an hour. They were chilled, but not frozen, so I added some crushed ice to the blender. I used Silk light vanilla almond milk (which I like for cereal) and served this with a dollop of whipped cream sprinkled with cinnamon. With the addition of the ice, this was enough for three of us for lunch today. Really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I think just about any fruit or vegetable like this can be blended with a banana and turn out well. I followed the recipe exactly at first. The only change I made was halving the recipe and using frozen banana. I thought it was fine but kind of reminded me somewhat of a thick pumpkin pie filling before it is cooked. So, I tweaked it to taste. I threw the other half of the banana in the blender, added a splash of vanilla, and 4 ice cubes for half the recipe. I got 2 servings. I did do the microwaving the day before. The 10 minutes was accurate with my microwave. I also tried the smoothie with or without the whipped topping garnish and it was fine either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I used regular lowfat milk instead of soy and I added a touch of brown sugar and pure vanilla extract. I was surprized, this was actually quite good and the kids liked it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
This smoothie makes me feel as though I'm eating healthy and getting my veggies in for breakfast! I froze the banana and used skim milk. I felt it needed a sweetener of some kind, so I added Splenda to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
It works with sweet potato too. I had made a loaf of bread and had sweet potato left over and added vanilla extract and it was pretty good and it fill you up super quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I just made this and didn't like it, if I can add something into it to make it sweeter or something I would probably like it but so far no on my end..also no I did not tweak this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I love this, I used OJ instead of milk. You can also add some protein powder and even some ground flaxseed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James Smail

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
I actually came up with this idea on my own and just looked it up after to see if anybody else had. I made mine with coconut milk instead of Soy and it was DELICIOUS! The only reason I rated it 3 was because I don't think it would taste very good with soy. You can also add a tablespoon of coconut flour as a protein powder to this. PS I wonder how this would taste heated as a hot drink with pumpkin spice and maybe a dash of rum...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I would have never thought to use a sweet potato in a smoothie but it turned out delicious! Getting my vitamin A and potassium in one drink-fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ayanna
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
OMg!!! I love love the taste.. I use almond/coconut milk and a tip of honey soo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a classic Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States