Sweet Potato and Apple Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
Extremely tasty, only reason it wasn't a five star was I found there was a little too much lemon flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I love this soup! For those that said you couldn't taste the apple I wonder which type of apples were used? I usually opt for tart green apples and find the flavour to be just present, but not overpowering. I use slightly less broth (4 cups) to avoid having an overly watery soup and I always leave out the cream entirely - the soup is so yummy, there's simply no need for it. I've made this soup a few times now, and the only changes I made aside from those mentioned above is adding three small-medium carrots, if they're on hand, and putting goat cheese on top before eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
A great, hearty soup, but next time I would opt to omit the lemon: it was just a bit overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nick
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
Fantastic Fall soup! Rather than garnishing with goat cheese, parsley is a nice alternative. To really spice it up, add cinnamon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Yum! I changed a few things, mainly due to ingredients I didn't have on hand. I had no chicken stock or cream, so I used water and added 1 Tbsp of soy sauce to each cup of liquid (an allrecipes ingredient substitution suggestion). I used a few tablespoons of lemon juice and doubled the apple. I served it in Taste of Home's Bread Bowls (recipe available on allrecipes). We really enjoyed it. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I enjoyed this soup, but I had a difficult time getting it to a soup-consistency and not having little carrot bits in it. I used a braeburn apple, which may not have been tart enough. I used vegetable stock to keep it vegetarian, and this worked fine. Since some reviews said there was too much lemon, I mixed lemon juice with cranberry, and this worked well. Also added some cinnamon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Everyone in my family LOVED this, even my 8 month old. I used 3 apples, cored and sliced with a corer before baking, then they peeled easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KitchenWitch
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
This is a great soup to serve in the autumn time, it warms you right up! I love how simple it is, and it has lots of great vitamins and nutrients. If the lemon is too much, try a small lemon or perhaps less juice. The apple is awsome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
My family and I didn't care for this at all. I followed the recipe exactly, but it still was not something we cared for. I didn't even like it enough to try to play around with it to see if I could make it more suitable for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
This was good. I couldn't taste the apple, so if I made it again I'd probably use 3 instead of one and leave one of them cut in pieces instead of blended in with the rest of the ingredients. I added garlic and a bit of pepper and nutmeg to spice it up a bit. Perfect for a chilly fall or winter day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKIEMARIE
Home Town: Waubeka, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States