Sweet Potato and Apple Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I liked this soup. I left out the carrots and lemon because I didn't have any, but I think the carrots would have helped with the flavor. I'll try it without the cream next time to cut the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Just lovely! I served this with my first ever Thanksgiving meal cooked by myself. It was the perfect appetizer and the flavors were awesome. I think I used a little extra cheese on each, but really, who wouldn't?!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by courtney86

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This is excellent, but it's definitely a taste for experienced palates. I've varied the salt from none to a TB, and it's delicious both sweet and savory! I did leave out the lemon, and dumped everything but the cream and feta in the crockpot (then added them just before serving): easy peasy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
My family and I didn't care for this at all. I followed the recipe exactly, but it still was not something we cared for. I didn't even like it enough to try to play around with it to see if I could make it more suitable for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Just made this for the 3rd time (I was finally able to use a bay leaf and an immersion blender!). I LOVE IT! I think this is the best soup I have ever made and couldn't be more proud to serve it to my family on Thanksgiving. I have never added cheese to the top - I don't think it needs it - but followed the recipe to a T otherwise. Keep to the directions and you'll have a sweet-yet-savory winner on your hands!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mell42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athens, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Excellent. I did without the cream and added chicken to the mix. It's the perfect fall soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Everyone in my family LOVED this, even my 8 month old. I used 3 apples, cored and sliced with a corer before baking, then they peeled easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Really tasty. Quite thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Yum! I changed a few things, mainly due to ingredients I didn't have on hand. I had no chicken stock or cream, so I used water and added 1 Tbsp of soy sauce to each cup of liquid (an allrecipes ingredient substitution suggestion). I used a few tablespoons of lemon juice and doubled the apple. I served it in Taste of Home's Bread Bowls (recipe available on allrecipes). We really enjoyed it. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I love this soup! For those that said you couldn't taste the apple I wonder which type of apples were used? I usually opt for tart green apples and find the flavour to be just present, but not overpowering. I use slightly less broth (4 cups) to avoid having an overly watery soup and I always leave out the cream entirely - the soup is so yummy, there's simply no need for it. I've made this soup a few times now, and the only changes I made aside from those mentioned above is adding three small-medium carrots, if they're on hand, and putting goat cheese on top before eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States