Sweet Potato and Apple Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I served this at the family Thanksgiving dinner, and it was a huge hit. It is very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
LOVE love LOVE this recipe! My friend made it for Thanksgiving last year and I had to make it this year for my Thanksgiving. It was a hit! Only thing I am going to try different next year is cubing the apples into bit size pieces as well. I used Granny Smith apples and it was a GREAT combination with the sweet potatos. Just a smidge of tart with the sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This is a great recipe and a great alternative to candied sweet potatoes. Everyone loved it, including someone who doesn't like sweet potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coconut Creek, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This was a hit at Thanksgiving! I'm not a big fan of sweet potatoes, but I had seconds of these. My family doesn't like really sweet sweet potato dishes, so I used 1/4 cup of brown sugar over the potatoes and then 1/4 cup over the apples and they were still plenty yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Your recipe is wonderful and my family asked me to bring it again this year. 5 star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Good dish, but too sweet. This is better as a dessert or snack than as a casserole for a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
This is a recipe that is a "must have" at the holidays. It's easy, tastes great, and although it counts as a vegetable it tastes more like a dessert! I like being able to add more sweet potatoes or more apples depending on the tastes of the crowd. Great the next day too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
I made this originally to try something different with sweet potatoes. my family, even the ones who don't like the potatoes, love it. i highly recommend this recipe to anyone. It's amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I was just trying to use up some extra sweet potatoes & apples but I didn't think that it would come out this good.I omitted the pecans because a guest was allergic. Other than that, the only thing I changed was that at the end.....I melted the butter and made a roux w/the flour. I then added the brown sugar and made a caramel sauce. Poured it on the sweet potatoes/apples, mixed it up a bit and baked. Then, made a little more sauce to pour over when it came out of the oven only for 'eye appeal'. This was gone in no time. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Charlotte Amalie, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
i made this for the holidays and everyone loved it! i will omit the pecans next time as a frioend didn't care for them but it was still very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Croydon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States