Sweet Potato and Apple Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I halved the brown sugar as some had suggested and this turned out FABULOUS! A great dish to bring to Thanksgiving dinner! THANKS for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
very easy and yummy. I didn't peel the sweet potatoes and I steamed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I doubled (tripled) the crumble and got rave reviews. Wonderful yam/stewed apple combo for people who don't like pureed muck topped with marshmallows for thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPOILERDAVE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brentwood, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving this year and people loved the apples mixed with the sweet potatoes. I made the dish the day before and put it into the refrigerator. I baked in two smaller pans because for part of the recipe I substituted frozen apple juice concentrate in place of the brown sugar for the diabetics in the family. I found out that with the juice I need to bake it longer. I used the previous reviews and baked my potatoes first, then peeled them as they cooled. I used delicious apples for the right texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I only used half the suggested amount of sugar....would have been too sweet with it all....I also baked the sweet potatoes instead of boiling them and it turned out great...a great addition to Thanksgiving dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I halved the recipe for my husband and I and used 2 small sweet potatoes and 1 Granny Smith Apple, but I kept the topping the same (that's my favorite part!). It was soooo good! This is how I will make sweet potatoes from now on (I'll have to lay off on the topping, though .. ..!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This was great. I had some kiwis on hand so I added them. Next time I will take the advice of some reviewers and bake the potatoes instead of boiling. I'm thinking that way they'll be naturally sweeter and then I'll need less brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I totally agree with mommyfromseattle I took the sweet potatos and put them in a roaster pan and baked them for 25 to 30 minutes prior to baking the dish instead of boiling them. The skin peels right off. I also added oats to the topping mixture and made sort of a sweet potato crumble....it was delish. I cubed the potatos and apples and cooked with the top on most of the cooking time and then took it of for the last 10 minutes to crisp up some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I added juice and zest from 1/2 an orange. Didn't have pecans, so I used almonds - they were scrumptious also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Very good but almost like a dessert - an apple crisp with sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States