Sweet Potato and Apple Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This was delicious! Tasted like apple pie- perfect for Thanksgiving or Christmas (or a monday night!). Took awhile to cook in the oven- almost an hour. I would make sure the sweet potatos are very soft when you boil them. Mine seemed soft on the outside, but when I cut into them they were still firm on the inside-should have thrown them back in. My bf loved it-a nice mix up from the usual broccoli on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
My boyfriend and I made this for Thanksgiving. I had reduced the sugar and only used 3/4s the amount recommended. I actually found that it wasn't as sweet as I imagined it would be so next time I make this, I will use the full amount. The yams came out really soft. Like others stated, I wasn't sure about the butter, pecan and flour mixture - was it suppose to be melted butter or softened? I don't know but I melted it first and it was not pretty looking but tasted good as a subtle topping. I plan to use this recipe over yams with roasted marshmallows any day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARASAYSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was amazing! I used sweet potatoes and apples from my organic CSA veggie box and threw in a Bosc pear just cos I had one. I layered a bit of the pecan topping mixture in the middle so we could have pecans throughout the casserole. I layered everything in a medium round Pyrex and it was just the right size to fit this recipe. I'm going to make this another time for dessert and add a scoop of vanilla ice cream or frozen yogurt on top -- it's that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frances g.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union City, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
VERY good!! I've made it for the last 2 Thanksgivings. I add some dried cranberries to the mix too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I love to make and serve this. It is the dish my family requests I bring to all holiday functions. Your family will LOVE this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I cut back to 2 Tablespoons of brown sugar mixed with the apples. On top I kept it to 2 Tablespoons of brown sugar and 2 Tablespoons of flour and 1 Tablespoon of butter. Kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I made this as directed and found it to be waayyy too sweet..did not like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Worth reading the reviews and "tweaking" accordingly. A dressy accompaniment to fairly plain pork and chicken dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Not sickening sweet like most sweet potato recipes. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pennsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I made this for my husband last night and he loved it! was stealing second helpings out of the casserole dish! haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States