Sweet Potato and Apple Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 5, 2013
I cut the recipe down but I still followed it. The only problem I had is that it really wasn't cooking that much. I did cook the potatoes in the microwave before peeling and cutting. I had to turn it up to 400 and covered. It was really delicious. Next time I'll cook it on 400 for an hour. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I've made this recipe four times already and simply love it. The combination of sweet potatoes and apple is very good. The topping with pecans is simply scrumptious! This is a mainstay dish for Thanksgiving get togethers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I did not add the extra sugar. Everyone really enjoyed it! It was a different twist to sweet potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika Strasser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This was a pretty good recipe, but a little to dry for my taste. Everyone enjoyed the combination of apples and yams, and the spices were just right. My one year old had four helpings. I would make this again if I could come up with a sauce to keep the yams more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Worked out great for Thanksgiving dinner.. I think it is perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I made this a couple days ago for a barbeque, and it was excellent. I did modify it a little! I used yams instead of sweet potatoes, so I did not boil them first. I just peeled and sliced them in layers with the apples and brown sugar. I also changed the topping. One family member can't eat nuts, so I used oatmeal instead in the topping. Oh, and I added raisins. The whole thing came out great. Most people went back for seconds, and a few for thirds! Thanks for the great recipe, I have added it because I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This was delicious! Tasted like apple pie- perfect for Thanksgiving or Christmas (or a monday night!). Took awhile to cook in the oven- almost an hour. I would make sure the sweet potatos are very soft when you boil them. Mine seemed soft on the outside, but when I cut into them they were still firm on the inside-should have thrown them back in. My bf loved it-a nice mix up from the usual broccoli on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
My boyfriend and I made this for Thanksgiving. I had reduced the sugar and only used 3/4s the amount recommended. I actually found that it wasn't as sweet as I imagined it would be so next time I make this, I will use the full amount. The yams came out really soft. Like others stated, I wasn't sure about the butter, pecan and flour mixture - was it suppose to be melted butter or softened? I don't know but I melted it first and it was not pretty looking but tasted good as a subtle topping. I plan to use this recipe over yams with roasted marshmallows any day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARASAYSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was amazing! I used sweet potatoes and apples from my organic CSA veggie box and threw in a Bosc pear just cos I had one. I layered a bit of the pecan topping mixture in the middle so we could have pecans throughout the casserole. I layered everything in a medium round Pyrex and it was just the right size to fit this recipe. I'm going to make this another time for dessert and add a scoop of vanilla ice cream or frozen yogurt on top -- it's that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frances g.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union City, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
VERY good!! I've made it for the last 2 Thanksgivings. I add some dried cranberries to the mix too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States